PDA

View Full Version : Canon with G1/GH1



DonalDuc
06-26-2009, 01:54 AM
Nice to use Canon lenses with G1/GH1 ... no I'm waiting for my Konica adapter.

http://666kb.com/i/ba4l3j6rjd0i60wge.jpg

Martti Ekstrand
06-26-2009, 03:26 AM
Looks sweet. Is that a EF mount lens?

commanderspike
06-26-2009, 03:33 AM
Nice. I plan to do the same next week when my adapter turns up, for my 10-22mm Canon EF. I see you have the Sigma version.

Is it nice and wide at 10mm? :)

PhilD
06-26-2009, 05:04 AM
No aperture controls for EF lenses you're better off with FD's or Nikons

commanderspike
06-26-2009, 05:33 AM
There are ways around this though.

Adjust shutter speed
Adjust ISO
Use filters

DonalDuc
06-26-2009, 08:55 AM
No aperture controls for EF lenses you're better off with FD's or Nikons

You can change aperture - why FDs buy, if I have 100 EFs :Drogar-Dum(DBG): ... and 7 Konicas :beer:

dcloud
06-26-2009, 10:40 AM
You can change aperture - why FDs buy, if I have 100 EFs :Drogar-Dum(DBG): ... and 7 Konicas :beer:

directly?

dmoreno
06-26-2009, 12:50 PM
I am reposting something from this thread: http://dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=175301

Maybe DonaldDuc can shed some light in the subject:

am totally new t-o this interchangable lens stuff (I have only had fixed lenses camcorders). I am really interested in being able to use my girlfriends Rebel XS lenses on my GH1 (she has a 18-55, a 70-300 and a 50mm 1.8).

I found this adapter in ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-lens-to-Panasonic-G1-GH1-micro-4-3-adapter_W0QQitemZ350201470018QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLe ns_Accessories?hash=item5189a25c42&_trksid=p3286.c 0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A1234|24 0%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50 (http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-lens-to-Panasonic-G1-GH1-micro-4-3-adapter_W0QQitemZ350201470018QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLe ns_Accessories?hash=item5189a25c42&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1234%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50)

DonalDuc. what adapter did you buy? was it this one? will you recommend it?

I know any EF lens I use will be stuck wide open and will have to use ISO, shutter and ND filters to set exposure correctly. I want to know how bad/difficult this is, if someone has done it.

My thoughts on this (just guessing):

1. Since I want to keep a film-like shutter I will have to stay between 1/30 and 1/60, I guess.

2. I can buy a couple of ND filters (what grades would you recommend?) or buy a Variable ND filter. (Variable ND filters are expensive, though. I read about using a variable and a circular polarizer together to make your own Variable ND, but I don't know how that actually works)

3. I think changing the ISO would be the easiest way to change exposure, but I don't know how much control I would have by using only ISO.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated!

DonalDuc
06-26-2009, 03:48 PM
Yes, I've the jinfinance adapter from Rong Jin. It is well made and you can use all Canon EOS lenses with fixed aperture (as shown here elsewhere: press the DOF button and remove lens from Canon DSLR and aperture should be fixed - not only full open). Focus of course to set manually.

Cassius
06-26-2009, 04:11 PM
So can Nikon or other lenses adapt down while retaining aperture controls? I'm looking at this to replace my Canon, so using that to set it isn't an option, and Micro 4/3 lenses are a bit less available. But mostly I want to use the crop factor for a telephoto boost. As much as I hate to ask and mean it, would Nikon make this possible?

yia
06-26-2009, 09:47 PM
commanderspike you have to sell me you gh1