PDA

View Full Version : Will we see footage like this 5D MK II footage?

Sheppy52
06-17-2009, 08:00 PM
Okay. I came late to this GH1 conversation but I've never wanted to spend my money faster. I own an HVX200 and understand it won't replace it (will it?) but I have a quick question which might only be answered by time.

I've been looking at footage from the GH1 around the board and have seen a lot of it, but do you think we will see image quality like this commercial shot with the 5D MK II? Insanely awesome and could fool me that it wasn't shot with a $20,000 camera:

http://vimeo.com/5000009

Kiri
06-17-2009, 08:17 PM
I'm new to the game too, but I think what makes that clip you linked to especially nice looking is that it has had a lot of color grading and post-processing done on it.
Also, the f1.4 lens gives it a very shallow DOF which is a nice look.

I haven't seen anything from the GH1 that has been so heavily produced yet. So far I have mostly just seen "samples". But I suspect that the GH1 is also capable of this quality. Just keep in mind that it is going to have a lot to do with the lens and post processing too.

upshot
06-17-2009, 08:22 PM
What exactly is so special about this vid?

Could you shoot something like that with the GH1? Add rooftop, fast 25mm, ND filters and pouting models and Yes I think you could...

(after copious color correction)

Psynema
06-17-2009, 08:36 PM
I think it'll be close, but won't quite match the Mark ii - that sensor is huge.

But put good glass on the GH1 and no reason why you can't get close - Joshua Tree looked great.

Honestly, as good as the mark ii looks, sometimes I think the contrast and DOF are way overkill and fear the look may get dated 5 years from now looking back.

Sheppy52
06-17-2009, 08:51 PM