PDA

View Full Version : Will 24 Mbps make a difference?

weaselander
06-08-2009, 08:59 PM
Please keep in mind that I am an Engineer by training who is looking to buy a GH1.

It seems to me like this MUD problem is due to the high compression ratio when shooting at 1080P with only 17Mbps. Some have mentioned that 24 Mbps will help, and I sure it will, but to what degree? This change would allow the transfer of ~40% more information, but I don't know how that translates into real world results.

However, users have said that the 720P has far less mud and the camera allows you to shoot in 13Mbps, or a roughly 30% lower transfer speed. So if someone could take similar footage with both the 13 and 17Mbps in 720P and compare the mud, I think we could get a pretty good idea at the level of improvement if Panasonic gave us 24Mbps for 1080P.

What do you think?

Cassius
06-08-2009, 09:54 PM
The number of pixels has a lot to do with how the codec responds from what I understand, so I don't think treating it by percentage works. Another thing to keep in mind is that some people have said it may relate to the transfer speed with the memory device, though I'm not sure how much faith to put in that statement. Seems unlikely to me, but if that's the case it's even less a matter of compression issues. Someone with more knowledge on the codec in question could probably provide a much better response.

commanderspike
06-08-2009, 10:58 PM
Nah, I don't think it's to do with memory bandwidth or write speeds either. As someone else pointed out earlier, 17Mbps works out at 2MB write speeds - I have a 30MB write speed Sandisk (peak write speed that is) and still get mud.

I think it's to do with the lack of B frames, an encoding issue pure and simple.

squig
06-08-2009, 11:04 PM
1080 is 2.5x the amount of pixels/data than 720 squeezed into the same 17Mbps data stream.

Martti Ekstrand
06-09-2009, 12:36 AM