PDA

View Full Version : how bad is crop factor on 50mm

paulgandersman
06-06-2009, 03:18 PM
how bad is the crop factor on the 50mm? do you feel like you're having to back way too far up in order to get a shot that's still too close? or is it not bad to work with? i only have money to get one lens right now to go with my GH1 (plus the adapter) so im trying to decide between a 50mm 1.8 and a 28mm 2.8

also i'm going to be shooting a great deal of very low light stuff (bands performing in bars, etc)

Martti Ekstrand
06-06-2009, 03:24 PM
I don't understand why you use 'bad' in this context. 50mm on GH1 is like 100mm on a full format SLR, digital or film.

John Caballero
06-06-2009, 03:26 PM
Its a 2x factor.

paulgandersman
06-06-2009, 03:27 PM
well i'm kind of new to shooting with lenses all that much, i've spent a great deal of my filmmaking career tied down to a stock lens like on the HVX200 or something. so my brain is just having trouble comprehending what a 100mm would be like, how far from subjects i'll need to be to get proper framing, etc. and the other concern is that i'll be in very low light situations and am worried about 1.8 vs 2.8. i guess i just need some newbie advice (wish I could afford more than one lens, but i cant for now :/)

John Caballero
06-06-2009, 03:34 PM
This should help you a lot:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full-frame_digital_SLR (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full-frame_digital_SLR)

squig
06-06-2009, 04:01 PM
how much is the budget for this one lens?

admactanium
06-06-2009, 04:05 PM
Do you have any kind of stills camera that you can zoom to a 100mm equivalent? If so, then you can get a good sense of the spacing needed for a 100mm lens. Most Point-n-Shoot cameras should cover that within their zoom range.

paulgandersman
06-06-2009, 04:40 PM