PDA

View Full Version : Exposure Issues - Stock Lens



Joe Shaw
06-03-2009, 03:58 PM
I'm hoping someone is going to point out something simple I am doing wrong, but I went out to shoot some stuff today. The weather was cloudy and fairly overcast. My problem was that to get a decent exposure I was having to crank the ISO up to 800 and 1600 at times. Which does not seem in anyway right.

I know the stock lens is slow, but that slow?

I'm shooting in the Movie Camera icon mode on the main dial, with auto everything off.

Any suggestions or ideas for checking if this right, I'd appreciate it.

All I have to compare with is my trusty old Canon AE1 Program. Not sure I trust the needle meter in that. But perhaps it could be useful?

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 12:11 AM
Would someone who has one at least give me an idea of what kind of ISO they are shooting at under normal daylight conditions with the stock lens?

squig
06-04-2009, 12:16 AM
what shutter speed were you using?

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 12:19 AM
I'm trying to shoot at 1/50.

This is my problem as I see it. Today, I point the camera up at the clear sky. Lens is at its widest. ISO 100. Shutter 1/50. At f4 I just about get correct exposure. If anything it is slightly under...

No filters etc. Auto ISO off. Intelligent Exposure off.

SonicStates
06-04-2009, 12:21 AM
Joe,
It's pretty overcast here in Nagoya too. Did a quick test and with aperture wide, shutter at 60 (for 720 SH), and ISO 100. It was a blow out...as expected. Had to stop down to 14 to get semi-decent exposure on ISO 100.
Your situation sounds fishy...
Kholi has an interesting theory about low ISO and increased noise but in any case something isn't right.
What aperture are you using? Shutter? etc...

SonicStates
06-04-2009, 12:22 AM
I'm sloooooooooooow

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 12:24 AM
Appreciate ur reply though. Clearly, I have what we like to call - a lemon.

SonicStates
06-04-2009, 12:25 AM
I'll see if I can replicate what your talking about...minus the lemon part

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 12:29 AM
That would be great. I don't think I have any settings wrong and I have reset the camera just in case. But for some reason, there is a definite exposure problem with mine.

Martti Ekstrand
06-04-2009, 12:37 AM
Best way to check is borrowing a old fashion light meter and compare with the camera's read-out.

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 12:39 AM
Have compared to my Canon AE1 and the GH1 is way under. I mean I'm wide open on the lens pointing at the sky on ISO100.

Just need to make sure there isn't something I'm doing wrong before it goes back.

SonicStates
06-04-2009, 12:45 AM
It's not looking good on this end...with the settings you mentioned I couldn't even get close to needing to crank up the ISO as much as you had to.

commanderspike
06-04-2009, 12:51 AM
It does seem strange.

Slowing shutter to 1/30 should make a difference though.

Does it also seem light challenged when taking still photos? Are you using a Hoya filter?

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 12:56 AM
Slow on photos too. Just took a picture outside on the full auto setting. At full wide on the lens, it gave me ISO 320, f4 shutter 1/30.

Jackson Miller
06-04-2009, 03:20 AM
Oh man, sorry to hear. This sucks.

I know this is not the problem, but isn't it standard to shoot at 200 iso? At least in photography? or is it always best to go lower when you can? Because my photography teacher said iso 200 is standard and to keep it around there.

AndyW69
06-04-2009, 03:36 AM
Hi Joe, where did you get the camera from? I haven't seen any availability in the UK yet

Andy
07782 154547

dubwild
06-04-2009, 03:40 AM
Look on panasonic's uk website

Late
06-04-2009, 04:13 AM
Seems like a strange problem. Maybe the lens is stuck on a smaller aperture than what it's actually reporting. Have you tried removing the lens and putting it back on again? Maybe also check that there isn't any dirt on the contacts.

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 06:36 AM
Hi Joe, where did you get the camera from? I haven't seen any availability in the UK yet

Andy
07782 154547

I got mine in Hong Kong. Which is good and bad. Good because it has no recording limit, but bad as it seems it is going to have to go back.

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 06:41 AM
Seems like a strange problem. Maybe the lens is stuck on a smaller aperture than what it's actually reporting. Have you tried removing the lens and putting it back on again? Maybe also check that there isn't any dirt on the contacts.

That is my thinking exactly. I tried a lens from a G1 on it today and then my lens on the G1 body and got quite different readings. I have tried remounting the lens - contacts are clean as lens is brand new.

AdrianF
06-04-2009, 06:55 AM
Those exposure readings do look a bit iffy, maybe you have got a dud lens. Could you try resetting the firmware on the lens via the panasonic website? Suppose it's worth a try before sending back.

John Caballero
06-04-2009, 07:18 AM
I know this is not the problem, but isn't it standard to shoot at 200 iso?

Video cameras don't have the choice of changing ISO. The HVX 200 is about ISO 320. The HPX 170 I believe is about 500. GH1 and the new manual controls on the Mark ll give the option now.

commanderspike
06-04-2009, 07:51 AM
Try taking a photo indoors, of a white wall under standard 60 watt lighting, then upload the full JPEG with exif info to here.

I'll do the same to match the lighting and white wall with my GH1 and see what shutter speed / ISO I get.

Then compare...

Joe Shaw
06-04-2009, 08:01 AM
Try taking a photo indoors, of a white wall under standard 60 watt lighting, then upload the full JPEG with exif info to here.

I'll do the same to match the lighting and white wall with my GH1 and see what shutter speed / ISO I get.

Then compare...

I appreciate the suggestion, but I think there are too many variables there for that to be a scientific test. I think the very fact that even on full auto, taking a photo outside in sunlight, it is giving me 400 ISO and a shutter of 1/30 on the widest end of the lens, shows there is an issue.

admactanium
06-04-2009, 03:54 PM
Yes. That does not sound right. Granted it's much sunnier here now than it was yesterday but shooting photos of some flowers out on my patio I'm getting 1/500th-1/1000th ISO 100-125 A priority mode lowest F-stop for that zoom. Your shutter speed seems to be an order of magnitude slower and at a higher ISO even.

Joe Shaw
06-05-2009, 12:14 AM
Thanks for the help guys. She's going back...