PDA

View Full Version : PAL GH1 - No pulldown removel requied?



Jean Dantes
06-02-2009, 02:43 PM
Hey guys, I'm new here and very excited about the GH1! I live in PAL land (Australia), and was wondering if you guys could please help me with a question in regards to the PAL GH1 vs the NTSC GH1.

My question is; if I shoot 1920 x 1080 @ 25P on the PAL GH1, am I required to do a pulldown removal? I am assuming that I don't have to since the camera is creating 25 progressive frames from 50 interlaced frames (so there is no extra frames created or lost) @ 50Hz.

Can somebody please verify if I am correct or not?

If the PAL GH1 does require a pulldown removal @ 1080P, like it's NTSC counterpart, then I'm thinking I may as well order an NTSC version (for the extra frames in 720P, and the fact that it is actually much cheaper for me to get an NTSC version).

Thanks for your time guys, much appreciated!!

Isaac_Brody
06-02-2009, 02:54 PM
No pulldown removal necessary for PAL.

squig
06-02-2009, 03:58 PM
Stick with the PAL. Panasonic AUS are tripping with the $3300 RRP. Pick one up from HK they are already shipping there. I worked out they are about $2300 landed inc GST

Jean Dantes
06-03-2009, 01:58 AM
Awesome! Thanks so much for the reply guys!

So how do I go about editing 1080 @ 25P and 720 @ 50P off the PAL GH1? I'm on a Windows XP system (that will soon be running Premiere 4.0). Is there a AVCHD preset for 1080P @ 25 and 720P @ 50P ?

Thanks again, much appreciated!

commanderspike
06-03-2009, 02:23 AM
No pulldown removal necessary for PAL.

Why is this?

I thought pulldown removal meant getting rid of interlacing artefacts, as the camera records it's raw 24p output to 60i on the card in AVCHD format.

Same is true for PAL.

Martti Ekstrand
06-03-2009, 02:39 AM
No, since the 25p is in a 50i stream it's a even division unlike 24p in 60i, thereby not creating any interlace artefacts. You can read-up about it here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telecine

Ooze3d
06-03-2009, 04:39 AM
To make it clear:

Pulldown converts 24p to 60i and does lots of funny stuff to the footage because it has to convert 24 frames to 60 fields. It also repeats frames from time to time following a given order, making it a bit more difficult to go back to real 24p with the famous pulldown removal process.

That makes pulldown and pulldown removal EXCLUSIVE to NTSC countries.

Now in PAL land we have 25p and 50i but when you convert 25p to 50i you're just duplicating the framerate and dividing each full frame into two fields. That's NOT a pulldown process, so there's no need for pulldown removal in PAL land.

The only step you have to take with your PAL GH1 is to convert 50i to 25p using the most simple deinterlacing process. In fact it's not real deinterlacing since both fields were part of a single frame and then divided. That makes it even easier to get real 25p from the GH1.

Simple and fast answer: No. You don't need pulldown removal in PAL GH1 since pulldown is a NTSC process.

Don't mix pulldown with simple interlacing.

Norbert
06-03-2009, 04:59 AM
The only step you have to take with your PAL GH1 is to convert 50i to 25p using the most simple deinterlacing process.Huh? I don't even need to deinterlace 25p footage from my HV20, and that's wrapped in 50i. I edit on a 50i/25fps timeline. Looks terrific. Or should I deinterlace?

Martti Ekstrand
06-03-2009, 05:25 AM
Nope.

Or rather if you look at your footage on a normal TV (not computer monitor) and it has lots of annoying flicker on horizontal lines de-interlace might help but a 0.5-1 vertical blur is mostly a better fix. After Effects have a 'Reduce Interlace Flicker' filter that's brilliant for this. I nearly always use it on graphic layers in clips that go to broadcast.