PDA

View Full Version : What does the Canon offer that the GH1 doesn't

jrod81
05-30-2009, 07:42 PM
Just looking at the price alone I am wondering why I would pay so much more for the 5D as opposed to the GH1... especially since the 5D doesn't have 24p... I am still fairly new to the whole "making movie" community if it is highly technical things making the difference I would assume I could go without them but if there is something obvious that I will be missing by getting the GH1 I would like to know...
thanks a ton

squig
05-30-2009, 08:13 PM
the MKII H.264 bit-rate is 42Mbps. The GH1 AVCHD bit-rate is 17Mbps. Both are mpeg-4. The MKII is full frame the GH1 is 1.9x crop. The MKII has a higher dynamic range and better low light performance.

reem12
05-30-2009, 08:16 PM
a far superior image.

Ian-T
05-30-2009, 09:39 PM
I wouldn't say "far" superior. It's a sharper image no doubt but then again it's got it's little nasty's in it that looks like hyper video most of the time. I'm not sure that a 24p hack would help. That's exactly what was described of the "so-called" upcoming 24p. I wonder if this "hack" will bee the equivalent to converting 30p to 24p in post. If so...then it's not the same as shooting 24p.

ydgmdlu
05-30-2009, 09:52 PM
it that looks like hyper video most of the time.
Ha! That's a great way to put it. And I say that as a fan of the 5D's image. I wish that more people would recognize this. It really deflates the argument, which some GH1 detractors have, that the GH1's look is too "video-like." The D90, IMO, has a look that feels closest to film.

John Caballero
05-30-2009, 10:03 PM