PDA

View Full Version : Hard to get decent lenses for the GH1?

Schmoe
05-30-2009, 06:53 PM
Complete newb to all this stuff, so go easy on me :beer:

I've been reading a bit, and from what I understand, a 25mm f1.2 lens placed on a GH1 is equal to a 50mm f2.4 on a full frame camera, as far as field of view and DOF.

So is it possible to get decent DOF on a GH1 without breaking the bank on a superfast wide? It seems that buying a superfast wide would cost as much as the camera itself...

And I don't suppose that there is ANY chance of getting decent DOF with the kit lens, since it only goes as high as F4. Or am I wrong here?

squig
05-30-2009, 07:14 PM
A superfast wide will cost an arm and a leg for any camera. There's some less expensive options like the sigma 14mm f/2.8 aspherical and the zenitar 16mm f/2.8 fisheye. There's also a sigma 20mm f/1.8.

Schmoe
05-30-2009, 07:44 PM
Yes, but my point was that with the GH1, a superfast wide is a REQUIREMENT just to get the equivalent of a basic 50mm. So you may be paying the price for a superfast wide, but you're only getting the performance of a slower standard lens.

For example, that $570 Sigma 20mm f1.8 is only going to be a 40mm f3.6 on a GH1.

Can you even get decent shallow DOF with a 40mm f3.6?

squig
05-30-2009, 08:00 PM
well unless you're in a confined space you can stand back and your 20mm will look like a 20mm. the angle of view is the same it's just that the edges of the frame are cropped. full frame camera's have much a shallower depth of field than a 35mm movie camera does. there's plenty of shallow DOF examples on vimeo from the GH1, it's not a major issue.

MatzeB
05-30-2009, 08:18 PM
For example, that $570 Sigma 20mm f1.8 is only going to be a 40mm f3.6 on a GH1.

that's wrong - or at least missleading.

Schmoe
05-30-2009, 08:20 PM
That's true. And standing back is fine for outdoors shots, but what about stuff done inside? You can only move back so far until you back into a wall.