PDA

View Full Version : Downloadable Scene Files for the AG-HPX300



Jan_Crittenden
05-22-2009, 08:09 AM
Hi Everybody,

At the link below you will find the newest set of Scene Files for Download. Mike Caporale from Cincinnati designed them for me and I think he really did a nice job. As with all of the other cameras, if you have an AG-HPX301 you will need to alter the header in the file, and perhaps shutters. Since each camera is unique, only the 300 files will work on It can be done, just do so carefully. Know that loading these will not overwrite the factory preset and if you get really confused you can always go back to the reset values. If you have files in your camera save them off to a card before you load one of these as one file contains 6 files and will remap the entire scene file dial.

Good luck, have fun!

Best,

Jan


http://www.panasonic.com/business/provideo/scene_files.asp?model=HPX300

nsoltz
05-22-2009, 10:04 AM
Superb! I particularly like the descriptions and frame grabs of each file as well as the detailed instructions for back-up and restoring scene files.

And even better for understanding what each setting does are the color chart and vectorscope images. My highest accolades to whomever thought this page through!

What would really be helpful is if somehow they could all be zipped as one file. But I'm just a cranky old guy who has to gripe about something.

Mike's work is deeply appreciated.

Ned Soltz

Jan_Crittenden
05-22-2009, 10:08 AM
Hi Ned,

I do have them that way but my issue is that the number of calls that I have had about accidently rotating the Scene File dial, I chose not to do this, think scary numbers. You could easily do it for yourself with a little cut and paste in word.

All the best,

Jan

Marcus_Germany
05-22-2009, 12:19 PM
If you have a HPX 301e you have to insert from your orginal Panasonic file this line

00005002: 021C0708 ; (SYNCHRO SCAN):

Othwise the camera thinks you want to sync with 60 Frames.
Everything else is really easy and great fun.

Marcus, Munich

bachisio
05-25-2009, 02:14 AM
Hi Marcus,

did you mean replace:

00005002: 01AB0708 ; (SYNCHRO SCAN): original for HPX300

00005002: 021C0708 ; (SYNCHRO SCAN): with this for HPX301E

Could you post your modified file?

Did anyone post a tutorial or manual for writing scene file?

Bachisio, Sardinia

Marcus_Germany
05-25-2009, 05:47 AM
Hi Bachisio,

yes correct, as soon as I'm in my office at home, I will post the code of a file.

Marcus

FlacaProductions
05-29-2009, 12:54 PM
hi jan - thanks for doing this - very very helpful, indeed.
do these affect the preset white balances or only the manual wb settings?

thank you!!!

EDIT: yes...they do. i had the time to load some in this afternoon - great work. thank you.

AwakenedFilms
05-29-2009, 05:22 PM
Very nice. OLTYMR looks similar to DIGNEG.


Jason

ccastro
06-30-2009, 06:41 AM
Are you supposed to go into the menu and affect these settings one by one or do you copy and paste them onto an sdhc card?

If you go the copy and paste route does it automatically create a folder?

never tried this so I'm trying not to screw up my camera.

Jan_Crittenden
06-30-2009, 06:44 AM
Hi,

Just follow the directions on the website. Once you have them on the card you need to load them into your camera, this is done through the menus. All six load at the same time. And if you don't do it right, the camera won't load them so the pottential for messing up the camera is pretty small.

Best,

jan

ryaninoz
08-12-2009, 11:23 PM
do these files work with a 302 ?

ryaninoz
08-14-2009, 08:08 AM
i downloaded dayglo for the 302 and the master pedestal was -100 surely that isn't broadcast legal ?

Jan_Crittenden
08-14-2009, 08:32 AM
It most definitely is not, but that isn't the point for all of these scene files.

Lez
08-22-2009, 02:18 PM
Hi.. so to create Pal versions of the scene files would we change the :
AG-HPX300P
SYSTEM FREQ:59.94Hz to

AG-HPX302EN SYSTEM FREQ:50Hz

and then adjust all the frame rates to PAL ???

CHEERS

Barry_Green
08-22-2009, 08:07 PM
You can probably succed by just changing the AG-HPX300P to AG-HPX302EN. Try changing just that (in every scene file in the .TXT file) and see if it works.

Lez
08-23-2009, 01:59 AM
Cool will give it a go...but the frame rates look all wrong also... we don't get 60fps...

Cheers

PS : this is what I'm thinking:

This is what I'm thinking..

Ver 1.00-01
AG-HPX302EN
SYSTEM FREQ:50Hz
TITLE:LUDOBS
<F1>
SCENE NAME :LUD25
00005000: 0 ; VFR : ON
00005001: 25 ; FRAME RATE: 25 FRAME
00005002: 01AB0708 ; (SYNCHRO SCAN):
00005003: 1 ; DETAIL LEVEL: -7
00005004: 1 ; V DETAIL LEVEL: -7
00005005: 13 ; DETAIL CORING : 5
00005006: 1 ; CHROMA LEVEL: -7
00005007: 9 ; CHROMA PHASE: 1
00005008: 4 ; COLOR TEMP Ach: -4
00005009: 8 ; COLOR TEMP Bch: 0
0000500A: 122 ; MASTER PED: -6
0000500B: 14 ; A.IRIS LEVEL: -2
0000500C: 2 ; DRS EFFECT: 3
0000500D: 0 ; GAMMA : HD NORM
0000500E: 2 ; KNEE: LOW
0000500F: 3 ; MATRIX: CINE-LIKE
00005010: 0 ; SKIN TONE DTL : ON
00005011: 0 ; V DETAIL FREQ : THIN
<F2>
(the rest remains the same until)
00005000: 0 ; VFR : ON
00005001: 50 ; FRAME RATE: 50 FRAME
00005002: 01AB0708 ; (SYNCHRO SCAN):
00005003: 1 ; DETAIL LEVEL: -7
00005004: 1 ; V DETAIL LEVEL: -7
00005005: 13 ; DETAIL CORING : 5
00005006: 1 ; CHROMA LEVEL: -7
00005007: 9 ; CHROMA PHASE: 1
00005008: 4 ; COLOR TEMP Ach: -4
00005009: 8 ; COLOR TEMP Bch: 0
0000500A: 122 ; MASTER PED: -6
0000500B: 14 ; A.IRIS LEVEL: -2
0000500C: 2 ; DRS EFFECT: 3
0000500D: 0 ; GAMMA : HD NORM
0000500E: 2 ; KNEE: LOW
0000500F: 3 ; MATRIX: CINE-LIKE
00005010: 0 ; SKIN TONE DTL : ON
00005011: 0 ; V DETAIL FREQ : THIN

Lez
08-23-2009, 02:37 AM
This is downloaded from the camera scene file

Ver 1.00-00
AG-HPX302EN
SYSTEM FREQ:50Hz
TITLE:TITLE1
<F1>
SCENE NAME :
00005000: 1 ; VFR : OFF
00005001: 24 ; FRAME RATE: 24 FRAME
00005002: 021C0708 ; (SYNCHRO SCAN):
00005003: 8 ; DETAIL LEVEL: 0
00005004: 8 ; V DETAIL LEVEL: 0
00005005: 13 ; DETAIL CORING : 5
00005006: 8 ; CHROMA LEVEL: 0
00005007: 8 ; CHROMA PHASE: 0
00005008: 8 ; COLOR TEMP Ach: 0
00005009: 8 ; COLOR TEMP Bch: 0
0000500A: 128 ; MASTER PED: 0
0000500B: 16 ; A.IRIS LEVEL: 0
0000500C: 2 ; DRS EFFECT: 3
0000500D: 0 ; GAMMA : HD NORM
0000500E: 2 ; KNEE: LOW
0000500F: 0 ; MATRIX: NORM1
00005010: 0 ; SKIN TONE DTL : ON
00005011: 0 ; V DETAIL FREQ : THIN
<F2>


cheers

n90guy
08-28-2009, 08:47 AM
I just recently got a HPX300 and 170 and figured I'd look into the scene files available. Typically I do all of my "looks" in post but want to play with it a bit. I followed the link in the first post the the Panasonic website and when I tried to save the cameras current file scenes I do not have the options available that the instructions call for so I'm stuck. Any help would be appreciated.

FYI: When I select Card functions<Scene File: there is no "YES" just a "return" OR "change".

ryaninoz
08-29-2009, 05:45 AM
I downloaded and installed a scene file however all 6 scene files are now dayglo, is there anyway I can revert to my old scene files or are the settings online ? (I didn't save them onto a card first) are these scene files basically settings from the menu anyway ?

Lez
08-31-2009, 05:35 PM
You can reset them through the menus... it's in the same location as where you overwrote the original files... cheers

lordbiggus
09-14-2009, 03:30 AM
Can anyone give me a step by step guide on how to turn DRS completely off? At the moment, it is still on a level of 1.

Barry_Green
09-14-2009, 07:53 AM
On the HPX300, DRS is handled differently than on the other cameras. You set the level (1, 2, 3) in the scene file, but you activate it by having DRS set to a user button (or to the "auto knee" switch). So if you haven't activated it using the user button, and you don't have it assigned to the auto knee switch, it's off.

You can verify by going in and changing the DRS level and seeing if your image changes. If you don't see a big change between DRS1 and DRS3, it's off.

Spotlight Media
12-03-2009, 01:43 PM
I just recently got a HPX300 and 170 and figured I'd look into the scene files available. Typically I do all of my "looks" in post but want to play with it a bit. I followed the link in the first post the the Panasonic website and when I tried to save the cameras current file scenes I do not have the options available that the instructions call for so I'm stuck. Any help would be appreciated.

FYI: When I select Card functions<Scene File: there is no "YES" just a "return" OR "change".
I have the same issue here, I have yet to be able to add scene files to the camera as the link that Jan provided does not jive with the menu I have on my HPX300.
Anyone else have this issue? I will be working on it tonight but I thought I would respond here

john50t
12-16-2009, 10:05 AM
Yes, same problem for my HPX300. Somewhat confusing. I was able to correctly format the card and copy scene files on to it, and then changed the name to SCENE1.TXT, SCENE2.TXT, etc. But no luck in getting the camera to accept them. What am I doing wrong...????

Jan_Crittenden
12-16-2009, 10:14 AM
Hi,

You need to take the SD Card, format it in the camera, save a set of scene files while it is still in the camera. This sets the folder structure that has to be on the card in order to get the card to be able to see and use them. Once you have done this, take the card and place it in your computer. Look at the PRIVATE folder. Drill down through the folders till you see the scene file you saved. You may delete that one and put your new ones here making sure they have been renamed SCENE1, etc.

Hope this helps,

Jan

john50t
12-16-2009, 10:53 AM
Thanks Jan! Yes, I got it working perfectly. My confusion came when I tried to Write the custom SD card files to the camera, but I figured that out. Just need to take your time and understand the process. Also, being able to individually initialize F1, F2, etc., back to factory settings while retaining some of the SC card settings on other Scene file positions is really nice. Can't wait to shoot some footage with the custom Scene Files. Thanks again1

~John

Big Brother
01-12-2010, 11:14 PM
Still wondering how to play with these file for PAL cameras. Jan can you pls help PAL souls here !

Barry_Green
01-13-2010, 04:36 AM
Just use a text editor to change the header information in the scene file to be the appropriate camera name, such as "HPX301E". That works for the other P2 cameras, probably will for this one.

nedcam
01-27-2010, 07:29 AM
Do NOT use these scene files for shooting in SD. They are for HD only.

Jan_Crittenden
01-27-2010, 07:38 AM
Well you could use them for SD but with adjustment. For example if the Coring is a +5 that will likely make a very soft SD picture, change that. If the Chromas are highly saturated, back them down a little as the color space for SD is much less. If you have the detail way low, boost them a little. So you can modify these, but as Nedcam pointed out, they are optimized for High Def.

Best,

Jan

Take1Media
03-23-2010, 02:35 PM
I loaded 4 new downloaded scene files, but threw my old ones in the trash and renamed the new ones as stated. Where can i find the original scene files in case i want to reload them?

alenproducoes
07-30-2010, 06:11 PM
anyone knows if I can load this scenes in HPX 371?

Niels Neeskens
04-10-2011, 01:38 PM
anyone knows if I can load this scenes in HPX 371?

Wondering about this too! I am still searching for the best scene file setting on the HPX371?

bcvideo
04-19-2011, 03:03 PM
Hi there I know there is scene files for the HPX300 on the Panasonic web site but I haven't found any for the HPX370 does anyone have any or know where I can get some Thanks Brent.

Garion
04-20-2011, 07:06 AM
Hi there,
you can use the scene files from the Panny site just fine on the HPX370/371. You can download the ones your interested in and just copy the settings to your cams own scene files. Both cameras have the same menu settings so its only a case of pick the look you like and change the chroma/gamma etc settings to match.

What i did was to save my standard 371 scene files to the onboard sdhc card then take it to my pc and open it with a text editor. I downloaded the scene files from the Panny site. I then changed each scene file setting to a differant look, ie i copied the relevant settings from the panny files to each individual cam file,

So i have scenefile 1=BBC Vid, scenefile 2 =CineG, scenefile 3 =Vivid etc etc.

i then put the sdhc card back into my cam and uploaded them to the cam, so i have a differant look at the turn of the dial :)

cheers Andy

ccastro
07-05-2011, 05:28 AM
Does anyone know which one of these scene file is closest to a "Flat Look". I'm trying to match up as close as possible a 5DM2 to this camera and I have "flat settings " for the 5D but I've never seen the same settings for a hpx 300.

timbook2
12-16-2011, 12:51 PM
Try DIGINEG from the panny site<br>http://www.panasonic.com/business/provideo/scene-files.asp?model=HPX300<br>and raise Master PED to at least 18 or 20