PDA

View Full Version : Shutter Speed & ISO - WYSIWYG???



Finster
05-20-2009, 09:21 AM
I'm a 5DM2 newbie.

I really don't understand how you "control" the shutter speed and ISO. I've researched adjusting the shutter speed using a portable data input device, like the Apple iTouch. Makes sense to me. I've also looked at the Singh Ray Vari ND filter approach.

BUT!!!! Then I stumbled upon this thread (http://www.cinema5d.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2513) on Cinema5D ...


Over at DVinfo.net, from tests performed by Jon Fairhurst and Mark Hahn, we came up with the following set of rules on interpreting shutter speed.:

When shooting video with Nikon lenses or any lens where you are setting aperture manually:

Rule 1. Camera shoots at 1/33 of a second, any time the ISO is above 100, or above 200 with HTP mode employed. There is no way around this no matter what shutter speed reads out on the LCD.

Rule 2. At ISO 100, or 200 with HTP set, you can adjust shutter speeds. The following table shows the LCD reading on the left and the right shows the actual shutter speed the camera will use.

LCD -> Actual
Reads

1/40 -> 1/50
1/50 -> 1/50 or 1/100
1/60 -> 1/100
1/80 -> 1/100
1/100 -> 1/100
1/125 -> 1/125
1/160 -> 1/160
1/200 -> 1/200

Rule 3. With a non-aperture control lens, even higher shutter speeds than the 200 shown can be attained, despite Canon's indication of the limited shutter speed of 1/125.
GOOD GRIEF! All this control we're trying to obtain over the shutter speed and ISO, yet this post seems to say that no matter how hard you try the 5DM2 still has a mind of its own.

Am I reading this right?

Nicky
05-20-2009, 11:05 AM
yup, thats true and exactly why I sold my 5dmk2 :( slow shutter is terrible.

Finster
05-20-2009, 11:31 AM
Yes, terrible.

I just came upon that Cinema5D thread late last night. Now I'm depressed.

cinebuddy
05-20-2009, 11:47 AM
Finster don't let those threads discourage you...let peoples work speak for this camera. There is nothing putting an image out like this camera right now. And I may get flamed but the GH1 ain't even close.

http://www.cinema5d.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2560

or this

http://vimeo.com/4685373?pg=embed&sec=

or this (one of my favorites)

http://vimeo.com/4434571?pg=embed&sec=

Finster
05-20-2009, 12:03 PM
http://vimeo.com/4685373?pg=embed&sec=



Wow. Stunning.

But I just don't get it. I mean, isn't this a bug? In the Vimeo video by Sebastian Woeber he claims to have shot it in ISO 100 w/ 1/60 shutter. But was it really 1/60? More than likely it was 1/100, right?

Not to split hairs. It just seems screwy to me. I'm surprised more people aren't demanding a firmware update based on this information alone.

Kholi
05-20-2009, 01:07 PM
Man that explains it. I was at Panavision today doing a quick and dirty comparison between the MKii and the GH-1, and I swear the Mkii said 1/50 shutter but it looked like 1/100.

In the end, after they saw the GH-1 footage and manual controls they decided to use the MKii for still effects (blurrs, etc) for the commercial.

Love the MKii, I wants one. Still outputs a better 1080P (aside from aliasing and hot pixels, saw one today. eck). I can't wait for manual controls to hit.

PappasArts
05-20-2009, 03:20 PM
Man that explains it. I was at Panavision today doing a quick and dirty comparison between the MKii and the GH-1, and I swear the Mkii said 1/50 shutter but it looked like 1/100.

In the end, after they saw the GH-1 footage and manual controls they decided to use the MKii for still effects (blurrs, etc) for the commercial.

Love the MKii, I wants one. Still outputs a better 1080P (aside from aliasing and hot pixels, saw one today. eck). I can't wait for manual controls to hit.

Hot pixel, not good. I assume Canon will map that out? I hope!.. What about the GH1; will panasonic map that out if so. Or is that a function built in on boot up of the GH1?

Kholi
05-20-2009, 05:25 PM
I haven't had any hot pixel issues with the GH-1, but if I do I'll post for sure. I had one on my original HVX200 and it was an UGLY little Red annoyance.

The MKii popped up a hot pixel in the footage today. But the Still mode is equipped to handle it. Me thinks it won't be an issue to Canon because it's a STILL camera first.

Lee Wilson
05-22-2009, 03:29 PM
Hot pixels are quick and easy to remove in post.

PappasArts
05-22-2009, 04:21 PM
Hot pixels are quick and easy to remove in post.

Maybe so, however a useless render, and time/money if you paying a digital studio as well. I'm sorry, I just can't rollover and except a camera that has it, while ten others don't. Let's say that 1 in 100 off the line have it. So you pay the same as the other 99 people who don't have a hot pixel defective cmos, however since you got the "1"; tough sh*t for you. That's BS, and unacceptable. I've heard people say they're fine living with defective products like that. Now if all the other 99 off the line have it, then that would be the way it is. However that is not the way it is. I think this gets under my skin the most, cause way back Sony broadcast were bastards about fixing this issue and screwed many over with there arrogant attitude..

Finster
05-25-2009, 02:34 PM
What's the downside to shooting video at a high ISO?

I was just shooting some footage of my 2 year old playing in his room. The shutter speed was kept at 1/50, while the ISO was 2000 (I was using my Nikon 50mm with f1.4). The footage looked amazing ... at least in the viewfinder. I haven't uploaded it onto my computer yet.

Kholi
05-25-2009, 02:55 PM
That would be a serious downside on any other camera BUT the MKii.

LoL. I have yet to see a downside with high ISOs with the MKii, man. That's one thing that nothing else will be able to touch for some time to come.

Finster
05-25-2009, 03:48 PM
Really??? So, high ISO doesn't mean LESS of a film look ... as long as I'm keeping the shutter speed at 1/50?

I just keep reading that you should keep the settings around 1/50 or 1/60 with an ISO of 100.

BTW - while filming my son I took several still frames (again, 1/50 + 2000 ISO). DANG!!! They were gorgeous! I showed the stills to my wife and she was like, "I'm sooooo glad you bought that camera!!!"

Daniel L.
05-25-2009, 03:54 PM
You will see much more noise at ISO above 1600. You also lose dynamic range as you near 1600, and that could make it appear more like video.