PDA

View Full Version : 5D Mark2 or GH1 best for my work???

kingsta
05-02-2009, 09:07 PM
Hello I'm a music Artist and good video effects editor getting an major distribution deal for single. I want the closest look to a Mtv's Hiphop music videos as possible (the Hype Williams popy colorful look). From what Im seeing it looks like the canon's colors and sharp clear resolution looks the best especially in low light. I'm shoot for HD web videos mainly. Most shots I will be going far is close and wide with very shallow depth of field. I hear canon has alot of works and issues but I will deal with it to get the look I need... My budget is 3500$ what lenses and Camera do you guys recommend???? I will purchase the Canon tommorrow if you guys recommend Canon and start practicing for the real shooting date June 1st.

The lenses are a main concern because I dont know anything about picking the correct lense for the best close up but wide shot with shallow depth. reply soon.. thx

-kin

DavidNJ
05-03-2009, 02:22 AM
Budget including tripod, lights and grip equipment? Actually, the budget says it all. It is barely enough for the Canon with the kit lens.

Additionally, the manual controls on the GH1 will make it a lot easier to get what you are intending to get. That said, the automatic settings on the Canon seem to work very well.

Questions:

1. If you are the on camera talent, who will be shooting the video?

2. Is this for one video or are you making many?

kingsta
05-03-2009, 05:40 AM
Questions:

1. If you are the on camera talent, who will be shooting the video?

Yes me and a member will be the talent shooters in the video.Maybe I will have a extra person with a reflector.

2. Is this for one video or are you making many?

Mainly only this video first and then after this video I will do promos and group interviews, shorts and things and maybe 1-3 more 1-1/2 min sample videos to submit to the Record company for pre viz bigger budget projects.