PDA

View Full Version : First Lens?

Michael_Films
05-01-2009, 02:54 PM
I just ordered the 5D body today. Can't wait, but I am very new to all of this. What would be a first lens to get keeping in mind my primary use will be video. Should it be Nikon or Canon?

Thanks in advance.

ThunderousProductions
05-01-2009, 04:33 PM
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/542293-REG/Canon_2746B002AA_EF_800mm_f_5_6L_IS.html

Just kidding

This is a good start

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/486708-USA/Canon_1910B002AA_EF_16_35mm_f_2_8L_II.html
and
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/234444-USA/Canon_7042A002_70_200mm_f_2_8L_IS_USM.html

Your gonna need both. And definetly without doubt get canon lenses, nikons won't work on it, won't mount at all, just acts as a really expesive paper weight.
Your gonna need good lenses they are more important than the body, they make the picture the camera just stores it. :)
--The Thunderous Production Team

Michael_Films
05-01-2009, 05:29 PM
I wish I could afford the first one!

I thought some people were adapting Nikons so that they could adjust Aperture.

thekreative
05-01-2009, 06:24 PM
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/find/newsLetter/Mother-of-All-L-Lenses.jsp

get a manual prime 50mm with an aperture ring if you are going to do video. I went with Contax Zeiss (about $300or cheaper) lots of people have gone with Nikon. The Contax adapter I use has AF confirm and they must make the same for Nikon. 50mm is the starter for almost everybody. If you are going to go with a Canon zoom I'd go with the 24-70mm. The ones listed above both miss the 50mm mark which to me is a bit of a sweet spot. I have one and tape the contacts to fix the aperture and it works well. I use my primes alot more.

Michael_Films
05-01-2009, 06:49 PM
Sorry, I am sure this is a stupid question, so is the prime 50mm a nikon? And if so, I need to alo by that Contax adpater?

thekreative
05-01-2009, 10:31 PM