PDA

View Full Version : 5D Mark II Freezes / Locks up / Buffer Problem SOLVED



StormFactory
04-08-2009, 12:18 PM
I've been having a problem with my 5D Mark II freezing on me in Video Mode. If you are unfamiliar with this problem basically a five bar panel to the right of the LCD lights up one bar at a time and when it hits the top, the camera stops recording and locks up with the screen frozen on the last image of video. Turning off the camera and even opening the CF door doesn't unlock it. The only way to get it working again is to remove the battery.

For those of you lucky enough to have never seen this screen, Oynk has example photos here http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1603401&postcount=91

It happens intermittently so it's been hard to pinpoint what exactly was causing the problem was but now I think I have it solved.

After reading a few posts where other people were having the same lock-up problem, I found a common thread. They were all using the SanDisk Extreme III 8GB CF card. That card is rated at 30 MB/s. So technically there is enough headroom to not be a problem. However, this card is the problem.

The problem is not about CF card speed. The manual says that you only need a card over 8 MB/s (if I remember correctly) to record video. I've read where people using 133x cards are having no problems.

I did a test a using a SanDisk Ultra II 4GB CF card -- which are much slower than the Extreme III -- and it didn't have a single problem. No buffer. No bars. No lock up. It recorded 13:15 straight and stopped with the card was full.

I think the problem is that the SanDisk Extreme III 8GB just don't play well with the 5D Mark II in video mode.

What cards (brand, size and speed) are you using to successfully record long takes (over 10 minutes) of video?

mule ferguson
04-08-2009, 01:13 PM
I use a 16 gb 133 Kingston and a 36 gb Transend 133. Both work well with me I have shot 29min with no issue.

Mule Ferguson
HPX2000
HVX200
Canon 5D MKll :thumbsup:

thisiswells
04-08-2009, 01:32 PM
My Kingston 32GB (133X version) and Sandisk Extreme III 4GB both work fine in HD video mode on the 5D Mk II.

It's usually best (I've heard) to fill up a card up, then format it. Fragmented 133X cards are nothing but trouble. Not sure about the Extreme III, though.

planetMitch
04-08-2009, 05:47 PM
Sorry to hear about your troubles.

I'm using the sandisk extreme iii 8gb and haven't had any trouble (knock on wood).

I ran into one user having trouble with lexar cards (did I spell that right) and he sent them off to the vendor for evaluation - I need to try to get in touch with him to see the result.

I'll keep an eye on this thread to see if you have more trouble. Thanks!

Oynk
04-08-2009, 06:21 PM
I just noticed that in my photos the camera is powered off. That's how hard it locks up. You actually have to pull the battery out to restart.

I realized that this only happened with my 8GB (I have 1) and not my 4GBs (I have 3).


Thanks Storm for starting this thread.

mcll
04-08-2009, 07:27 PM
I have also noticed this problem. I have 3 8gig cards and it has happened on all three.
so I think your hypothesis is right.

stehsegler
04-16-2009, 06:27 PM
Funnily enough having a similar problem but it's with any type of Sandisk CF card and it happens while taking photos or scrolling through images.

The real problem is that I can't replicate the problem. I just not that it always results in the camera freezing and the card being corrupted. I then have to take out the battery and reformat the cards in another camera. It will then work again for a short while before playing up again.

I have had the camera with Canon and they replaced the cameras main logic board which seemed to have fixed the problems. Sadly it re-appeard after a couple of days. The camera is now with Canon again. Luckily I live near a Canon repair centre and have a Canon Pro membership. But at the end of the day this camera is pretty much worthless as far as using it for any commercial work goes.

If they can't repair the camera this time around I think I'll give them the option of either replacing it with a brand new one or refunding me the money for the camera.

I am really concerned that there is a fundamental flaw either in the chip design of the main logic board or some problem with the firmware. Either would mean the problem is inherent in all cameras and most likely won't be solved in a hurry.

Yasser
08-07-2009, 07:15 AM
I m facing the same freeze issue with my 5D Mark II, I m using 32GB SanDisk Extreme card. Any ideas how to overcome this problem. Thanks.

StormFactory
08-07-2009, 08:43 AM
I m facing the same freeze issue with my 5D Mark II, I m using 32GB SanDisk Extreme card. Any ideas how to overcome this problem. Thanks.Hello Yasser,

Welcome to DVXUser! This looks like your first post. You'll find a wealth of information here and a very friendly and helpful community.

As for your problem with freezing, I'm going to say try different cards. I don't know why SanDisk has this problem but I have shot near 2 terabytes worth of footage with the $60 dollar Kingston 133x Elite Pro 32GB CF cards and have not had one freeze.

My Extreme III SanDisk 8GB cards won't make it through the whole card without freezing and locking up the camera where I ahve to take out the battery.

So as odd as it sounds, if not freezing up and loosing your shot is important, go with the cheaper Kingston cards. Avoid the expensive Extreme III for video.

Good luck!

booggerg2
08-07-2009, 09:08 AM
Storm: I don't think your low volume stat is a definite prove of anything. I really fail to see the point of these "jumping to conclusion" threads because it does more harm to the issue in injecting confusion and unfound facts.

I don't own Sandisk extreme III 8GB cards and I've experienced the same issue. Don't know what card I used at the time but the cards I have a Kingston 133x 4GB and Sandisk II 4GB (both extreme and regular)

f64manray
08-07-2009, 09:11 AM
I'm using the extreme III 8 gig cards and have not had a problem. I'm not shooting anymore than 4 minute takes and it's been in the 640 mode.

booggerg2
08-07-2009, 09:12 AM
Mod please change the subject of this thread.. it's obviously jumping to conclusion and incorrect assumptions.

StormFactory
08-07-2009, 10:04 AM
Storm: I don't think your low volume stat is a definite prove of anything. I really fail to see the point of these "jumping to conclusion" threads because it does more harm to the issue in injecting confusion and unfound facts.

I don't own Sandisk extreme III 8GB cards and I've experienced the same issue. Don't know what card I used at the time but the cards I have a Kingston 133x 4GB and Sandisk II 4GB (both extreme and regular)Do you work for SanDisk?

Facts are facts, booggerg2.

My conclusion was made after doing my research into the problem and finding that 100% of the people who had the same experience were using SanDisk Extreme III at the time. I'm no scientist but evidence is evidence dude.

If I'm paying 5 times more for a CompactFlash card, then I expect it to work without problem compared to the cheap card and that is not the case with the card I have mentioned.

And though my 2 terabytes worth of 5D Mark II video shooting is a "low volume stat" and not a lot in the big scheme of things, how much video have you shot with your 5D Mark II? And are you doing long takes? Because that is when you see the problem. If you are doing short takes, you may never know that a problem exists.

But hey, if you want to trust your long 1080p shots to a card that could lock-up, freeze your camera to the point where you have to take out your battery, and destroy your shot where to the point it is unrecoverable, that is fine by me, but others may not want that.

I don't care whether you like what I say or not because I'm just the messenger. You want to complain, call Canon or SanDisk. You want to avoid your camera freezing up, see the first post. Thanks.

booggerg2
08-07-2009, 11:44 AM
Your conclusion was based on "several posts" you found and your personal experience. That is horrible advice to pass on as "problem solved".

"And though my 2 terabytes worth of 5D Mark II video shooting is a "low volume stat" and not a lot in the big scheme of things, how much video have you shot with your 5D Mark II? And are you doing long takes? Because that is when you see the problem. If you are doing short takes, you may never know that a problem exists."

Hey guy- hilarious.. how does my shoot volume have anything to do with it? I've already proven to you that the problem you described occured with cards other than the one you're proclaiming to be causing the problem. Hence, problem NOT solved.

slimchrisp
08-07-2009, 11:49 AM
I had a different set of issues with the 32gb sandisk. Everyone is saying kingston is the way to go. Strangely, I've had several camera reps and camera store employees tell me that they're manufactured at the same plant, and are basically the same thing. Whether those people are right or not I don't know. Either way, weird.

That being said, I sent my card back, got a replacement, and so far so good. Knock on wood, I hope it stays that way.

StormFactory
08-07-2009, 12:09 PM
Your conclusion was based on "several posts" you found and your personal experience. That is horrible advice to pass on as "problem solved".

"And though my 2 terabytes worth of 5D Mark II video shooting is a "low volume stat" and not a lot in the big scheme of things, how much video have you shot with your 5D Mark II? And are you doing long takes? Because that is when you see the problem. If you are doing short takes, you may never know that a problem exists."

Hey guy- hilarious.. how does my shoot volume have anything to do with it? I've already proven to you that the problem you described occurred with cards other than the one you're proclaiming to be causing the problem. Hence, problem NOT solved.What proof did YOU provide? You stated that you couldn't even be bothered to know what card you used. You did not detail the problem that your mystery card caused. And you said you are only using 4GB cards not the card that I mentioned. Seriouly, how do you call that proof?

Your shoot volume is in direct response to your claim to my "low volume" stats. Since my volume is so low, I would expect for you to back up your opinion with something other that just your opinion. But maybe I'm expecting too much.

If you have shot long 10+ minute clips with SanDisk Extreme III 8GB or 16GB or 32GB cards then your musings might actually hold some weight. Otherwise why are you even bothering to comment on something you know nothing about?

You are hardly more credible. At least if you're going to flame a post, back it up with something other than thin air.

Thanks though.

booggerg2
08-07-2009, 01:20 PM
The proof's in the pudding.

My point was the counter proof your statement of problem resolved. You asserted the 8GB Sandisk was the culprit of this issue and without said card, the problem will not occur. I gave my example of the same problem occuring with cards other than the one you've alluded to. In addition, I pointed out your ridiculous conclusion based on a handful of testimonials. You need large statistical number to prove your point, and I only needed my own experience to disprove your point.

Get it?


What proof did YOU provide? You stated that you couldn't even be bothered to know what card you used. You did not detail the problem that your mystery card caused. And you said you are only using 4GB cards not the card that I mentioned. Seriouly, how do you call that proof?

Your shoot volume is in direct response to your claim to my "low volume" stats. Since my volume is so low, I would expect for you to back up your opinion with something other that just your opinion. But maybe I'm expecting too much.

If you have shot long 10+ minute clips with SanDisk Extreme III 8GB or 16GB or 32GB cards then your musings might actually hold some weight. Otherwise why are you even bothering to comment on something you know nothing about?

You are hardly more credible. At least if you're going to flame a post, back it up with something other than thin air.

Thanks though.

Lee Wilson
08-08-2009, 10:36 PM
I've shot long clips (the maximum I could record) on a SanDisk Extreme III 8GB and a SanDisk Extreme III 16GB - since December 08, must have shot hundreds of clips (although not all 10 minutes +) - not had a single problem with the cards at all.

But I did get the lock up problem (bars up the side . . . battery out . . . etc) with a Kingston 8GB, I just presumed it was the card and tossed it into a drawer, the SanDisk Extreme IIIs seem to be much more trouble free (for me at least).

I might dig out the Kingston and try it with the new firmware - might help (??)

Emanuel
08-08-2009, 11:33 PM
Lee, you're not sleeping and you won't have light on your new Iscorama for daylight footage later. Not even with a Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 going on the 5D MkII ISO range ;-)

CBS
08-09-2009, 05:26 PM
In fact, it is just show off. He has the lens, no footage so far. :)

Yasser
08-10-2009, 02:30 PM
Thanks Storm for your help. Really appreciated.
Now the latest update. I have called Canon support and described the problem I m facing with my Extreme III 32 GB Compact Flash, and the advice they gave me is to try another card. I have asked them which vendor do you recomend, as expected they didn't provide any preferance and they mentioned that all card vendors should work. My last question was, should I try a smaller size card (instead of the 32 GB) the answer was straight NO, this is one of the latest models they have (5d Mark II) and it supports this amount of storage. The person told me that 90% the problem is in the card and not the camera body. This made my life easier, but didn't solve anything.
After that I saw your post, so I decided to buy a Lexar CF 300 X card 16GB. Tried to use it and test it during the last 2 days, all worked fine till this moment. :-)
So my last step was to call SanDisk support in order to report the problem and ask them how they can help. I m now quite confident that the problem is not in my Camera. So after giving all the needed information, the support guy told me that Extrem III 32 GB are not supported on Canon 5D Mark II camera!!!!! He even refered to Sandisk website to illustrate that. IT was shocking for me to receive two different information about the card compitability from both companies.
Regardless who is correct and who is wrong. My aim at the end is to have a workable solution, and this is definetly is not with ExtremeIII cards. I really do not want to waste more money and try Extreme IV :-)
Thanks all for your help.
Yasser

kaarlot
12-11-2009, 02:59 PM
After setting "Peripheral illumin. correct."="Disable" this http://www.cinema5d.com/images/smilies/eusa_dance.gif STARTED WORKING! http://www.cinema5d.com/images/smilies/eusa_dance.gif
(Tested using Firmware 1.0.7 and a brand new Sandisk Extreme III 16GB)
Greetings from Helsinki.

ROCKMORE
12-11-2009, 07:24 PM
I use a 16 gb 133 Kingston and a 36 gb Transend 133. Both work well with me I have shot 29min with no issue.

Mule Ferguson
HPX2000
HVX200
Canon 5D MKll :thumbsup:

Ever have overheating problems on a 29 minute shot?

Paulyfuntimes
02-26-2010, 12:58 AM
I have the same problem with my san disk extreme 3. 4 gig.

Buffer problem. I now use lexar 8gig -No problems now.

TimurCivan
03-02-2010, 03:03 PM
i get the freeze issue, but it only happens the first time you record to the card, after booting Magic Lantern. Using 2x 32GIG Sandisk ExtremeIII 30MB/sec cards. The lockup isnt permanent, it just needs 3-4 seconds to stabilize then its fine. Usually as soon as i load ML, i just record for 10 seconds, clear the problem then its fine...

polpo
03-17-2010, 02:40 PM
I still got the same problem under firmware 2.0.3
I am shooting on a SanDisk Extreme III 4 GB. Short films have been saved to the CF card even though the camera freezed and I had to pull the Battery.
Do I have to buy CF cards from a different brand to be "safer"?
Thanks for your help
Paul
.

caspender
09-14-2010, 01:38 PM
I read this thread and describes the same problem I have always had with the Canon 5D MkII - it randomly freezes in movie mode (bars appear on the screen) and I have to take out the battery to reset the camera. This means whatever I recorded is lost.

The bottom line is that I don't trust the camera. I shoot a lot with it and I'd say about 10% of the sequences I film lock up. If I'm interviewing someone, it's incredibly embarrassing.

I've tried multiple cards. It still happens. This is a problem with the camera.

Has anyone got another solution please? Otherwise, this thing is going on ebay.

planetMitch
09-14-2010, 01:43 PM
I read this thread and describes the same problem I have always had with the Canon 5D MkII - it randomly freezes in movie mode (bars appear on the screen) and I have to take out the battery to reset the camera. This means whatever I recorded is lost.

The bottom line is that I don't trust the camera. I shoot a lot with it and I'd say about 10% of the sequences I film lock up. If I'm interviewing someone, it's incredibly embarrassing.

I've tried multiple cards. It still happens. This is a problem with the camera.

Has anyone got another solution please? Otherwise, this thing is going on ebay.

As many 5D2s as there are out there, if it was a problem with more than just a couple, I would think we'd hear about it. I think you've got a lemon. Talk to Canon about it.

caspender
09-16-2010, 10:47 AM
Thanks for at least confirming I've got a lemon!

caspender
09-16-2010, 11:03 AM
As a follow up, I called Canon (thanks for prompting me) and they said I had to use a UDMA card. I was using a Sandisk Extreme III 30mps card (both 8gb and 4gb) -- so it seems I now have the answer to why some movies were freezing. Maybe I'm the person who didn't realize this subtle difference in the type of cards needed (I'm no pro), but I thought I'd share this here just in case someone else has the same problem.

Great message board.

caspender
09-16-2010, 11:04 AM
Is it a UDMA card? If not, I bet that's the problem. Canon said it must be UDMA.

planetMitch
09-17-2010, 03:33 PM
As a follow up, I called Canon (thanks for prompting me) and they said I had to use a UDMA card. I was using a Sandisk Extreme III 30mps card (both 8gb and 4gb) -- so it seems I now have the answer to why some movies were freezing. Maybe I'm the person who didn't realize this subtle difference in the type of cards needed (I'm no pro), but I thought I'd share this here just in case someone else has the same problem.

Great message board.

Ok, I have to apologize for jumping in without having my feet wet (or whatever the right saying is LOL)

When I saw your post the other day, I didn't see the whole thread and I should have gone back to read the whole thing.

I think you're being bitten by the 'bit rate' of the cards. Especially if you're using the latest Canon firmware on the 5D2 - 2.0.7

The original specs on the 5D2 as quoted earlier in this thread stated that the output of the video going down the pipe to your card was pretty low and that 30mb/s cards were more than enough.

However, the latest firmware bumped up that bit rate to 45mb/s if I remember correctly. Therefore slower cards could indeed cause problems... tho most times, I've just heard of the data not getting written - as opposed to the camera locking up.

So, now Canon is definitely recommending the UMDA cards as I think most of them are rated at 60mb/s

Sorry I didn't read the whole thing.

capceng
10-04-2010, 05:36 AM
I also have this happen yesterday.
I am using "Team 600X UDMA 16 GB compact flash".and have never experience freeze before until yesterday.

Before yesterday(the freezing happen), I was taking out my card and transfering files to a pc. After that I delete the *.THM files from the card without deleting the *.Mov files.
And return the card to the 5d again.When I browse the card from camera,it did not show any video files,instead just the image files(the video files stil there).
And then I record a video,after a few second the video start to freeze,the red led indicator lit up and won't blink.buffer bar in live view. After about 1-2 minute freezing,it return to normal again.And the video I was recording is there but stop until the time it got freeze.

I try to record video again several times,and everything goes normal.

Than I just delete the video that created by the freeze up moment. And when I hit record,the freeze problem happen again.
mmmm....something wrong.I am guessing there are some problem about file management,not the card.

Because, After I formated the card,I never had that happen again,until today.

has anyone,experience this too?or anyone try it?