PDA

View Full Version : New Guy Here....

Cunseeded Pat
03-18-2009, 11:10 AM
Whatís up everybody, Iím new to the actual physical parts of filming. (I have been a writer for marketing company, who shot commercials, music videos, ad campaigns etc, for the past 10 years) Just recently decided to go on my own and indie with everything, Film, Music, etc. I shot a couple of few hour music videos with a DVX100B stock, without the use of lighting due to the areas of the videos. After shooting the videos, I realized I left way too much headroom in most of my shots (rookie mistake).

Bynoe Ė The Boogeyman (shot in 4 hours)
http://vimeo.com/3515292

Jace & Paulie Gwap - Suicidal Dreamin (shot in 12 hours)
http://vimeo.com/3514912

Saigon Ė What A Life (shot in 6 hours)
http://vimeo.com/3515020

Hot Rod Ė Pop Somethin (shot in 45 minutes)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4gP9MgIo8I

im going to be shooting a slew of promotional videos for local and mainstream artists, and gonna attempt to shoot one of the features I have completed. Iím looking to upgrade my current gear, from 2 DVX100Bís to 1 HVX200a, a Brevis35 nikon mount (I have a 50mm 1.8 lens that I would probably use). What Iím looking for is a little help on some recommendations for a tripod and lighting. I have a Kessler 8ft crane, im thinking of selling it to get thisÖ
http://www.amazon.com/Indy-Jib-Camera-Crane-Boom/dp/B001L9K8CE
has anyone ever used this? Any help you guys could provide me with will be highly appreciated.

Thanks

Pat

Norm Sanders
03-19-2009, 02:30 PM
Personally, I'd get the extension for the Kessler before I'd go with that set up, if you're wanting a 12 foot reach, that is. Too many cranes with a side mount like that tend to weaken with a heavier load (remember law of physics/leverage, and the more weight you throw on the end with adapters, lenses, rails, etc. the more you have to offset with weights), I've seen those side mounts tweak, hard to keep a straight line on the horizon, etc.