PDA

View Full Version : time laps.

Luke
02-10-2004, 12:49 PM
Im in a Botany 130 course this semester and we're starting to grow our own plants. Since i have no time for anything but school i thought i might as well get some extra brownie points with my professor and put my DVX to work. The plan is to get a time lapse shoot of my plant growing over a 2-3 month period. I planted one 2 weeks ago and it has grown an inch and a half. I know it wont be smooth or look remotely similar to what I've seen in movies like Baraka but i just need to get the look of it growing. Because i don't want to use hundreds of tapes i was thinking about maybe filming just a few minutes at a time each day and when it's time to put it all together just put nice transitions in between each cut. I realize the plant and the DVX cannot move and i will need a consistent light source for such fast takes. Ill be finishing it up in vegas. I have never done anything like this before and would love to hear any suggestions. Thanks

Neil Rowe
02-10-2004, 01:18 PM
one thing you night want to consider is to snap the frames at night, under artificial light, that way the light position and scource will always be excactly the same, wher as the sun will move pending time of day. you could evn put a bright light niext to it and make it look like it might be sunlight coming from a window or whatnot.

Neil Rowe
02-10-2004, 01:22 PM
..oh yeah, and use a shallow dof and tight framing, so that if anything changes in the background its not going to be as distracting to the main subject in animation as they would if they were sharp and clear..

just dont frame it so tight that your plant will grow out of frame,, but you can always animate the framing as the plant grows too, just by moving it little by little as it grows.

filmmaker58
02-10-2004, 01:57 PM