PDA

View Full Version : Brand NEW HMC150 User

RoadandDirt.com
12-19-2008, 04:25 PM
Hello All,
I have been reading all your feedback about this camera for weeks B4 actually buying it. (B&H $3195) I have looked around the forum to find out most of my questions. A lot were answered, thx!

I shoot Amateur Motocross for a living, for 9 years now. 45 races a year. 1000's of Mini DV tapes over the years, I don't reuse tapes. Just buy more. Finally a real solution to my tapes getting messed up from dirt, dust, heat and whatever else liked to play havoc with my GL1 and GL2 I've used since 2000.

I want to know which settings real users recommend. My end user/viewer doesn't really care how great the quality is, as long as it's good steady footage of their rider in their races. I shoot about 3 to 4 hours a day at a Big Nationals. I will dump the footage when needed on my Mac Pro Octo. I would like to keep the space the footage takes on my int. drives to a minimum. From what I read the lowest setting should be better then SD I have shot for years. But what's my best bet? less Space vs. quality

Also I can't find anywhere how long it will take to dump 16gb off the camera via the cameras USB slot and or the Panny SDHC card reader I bought. Which method is faster/better?

If I want to burn a DVD in HD quality, it looks like I need to export from FCP. what settings? Then I should burn it using Toast 9? Can I burn short 10 to 20 minute promos on a regular DVD?

Using Mac Pro Octo 16gb ram 4 int. 1tb's using FCP 6.0.5

Thanks in advance!!!

RoadandDirt.com

Evro
12-19-2008, 11:57 PM
One of the great things about the AVCHD codec is the solid way it renders motion, and considering you are shooting fast moving vehicles I would really recommend shooting in the PH mode to avoid motion artefacts.