PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to remove FCS before adding FCS 2?



DVX100Shooter
12-05-2008, 01:43 PM
OK here's the deal. I currently have Final Cut Studio and for me to upgrade to FCP2 is $499. I was able to find FCS 2 (the $1200 box) for a way lower price than the upgrade price. Now do I need to completely remove the original FC Studio from my computer before adding version 2 or can I just install everything as normal and see if it overwrites and adds later upgraded versions to what I already have?

Confused? Simplest terms, do I need to trash Final Cut Studio before installing Final Cut Studio 2 (with Motion3, Color, etc.) since I won't be using the $499 Upgrade disc(s) to do the install. It would be like I went to the apple store and bought a brand new box of FCS 2.

NoahK
12-05-2008, 03:15 PM
No you don't need to remove anything. But I'm curious- is that a legal copy. I only ask because that could cause you issues when it comes time to Software Update to the current version of FCP 6.0.5.

Noah

DVX100Shooter
12-05-2008, 08:41 PM
A friend of mine owns this website and I got it from there:

www.cheapestsoftwareanywhere.com (click on Mac products) also wait till you see the prices for the brand new Adobe CS4 Masters collection! My eyes about fell out of my head when I saw it! LOL!

NoahK
12-05-2008, 08:48 PM
Um yeah- those are pirated copies but oh well...

Noah

DVX100Shooter
12-05-2008, 09:53 PM
I normally get my apps the correct way but when I saw the prices I guess I reacted so quick I didn't realize it right away.

So your saying even though it has the Key/serial number to unlock the software, I still couldn't get updates with it?

NoahK
12-06-2008, 12:00 AM
I normally get my apps the correct way but when I saw the prices I guess I reacted so quick I didn't realize it right away.

So your saying even though it has the Key/serial number to unlock the software, I still couldn't get updates with it?

Not sure- you might get updates but you also might get in serious trouble for having a cracked serial number. I'd consider going legit.

Noah

David Saraceno
12-06-2008, 10:12 AM
I also urge going legitimate.

Both Adobe and Apple have MAP rules. In looking through the web site, there are some products both that are 20% of everybody's prices.

No phone number? To keep prices low?

No physical address?

Exactly one e mail address?

Batutta
12-06-2008, 12:04 PM
Yep, most likely pirated...If you install, just rename your old Final Cut Studio Application files (add OLD to the end or something), and they won't be erased.

Derkoi
12-06-2008, 02:02 PM
A friend of mine owns this website and I got it from there:

www.cheapestsoftwareanywhere.com (http://www.cheapestsoftwareanywhere.com) (click on Mac products) also wait till you see the prices for the brand new Adobe CS4 Masters collection! My eyes about fell out of my head when I saw it! LOL!


I normally get my apps the correct way but when I saw the prices I guess I reacted so quick I didn't realize it right away.

So your saying even though it has the Key/serial number to unlock the software, I still couldn't get updates with it?

So you bought software from a friends website but didn't know it wasn't legit?

Lol, if you say so. :)

DVX100Shooter
12-06-2008, 03:11 PM
Correction, I don't have it yet. I was going to get it until I contacted my friend and told her about the false advertisment on her site. She said the FCS 2 is the full complete version however you don't get Color, Soundtrack Pro, Livetype or Motion 3! So FORGET THAT!!! I need everything in the FCS2 box. So I will be spending the $499 for the upgrade.

Derkoi
12-06-2008, 03:16 PM
Sounds like a con anyways.

Thats like buying a cheap car, but not getting wheels, seats and a steering wheel. lol

DVX100Shooter
12-08-2008, 07:04 PM
LOL!!! Right!!!

321estrellas
12-09-2008, 10:25 PM
Did anyone read their "why so cheap" section? http://www.cheapestsoftwareanywhere.com/faq.php

I especially like the answer for "Should I call the Manufacturer if I'm having problems or you?"

Answer: Please do not contact the manufacturer for install issues. we provide the support for all install problems. Also if you need to register the software do it thru the program itself after it is installed, do not register thru the internet or phone as the product you just purchased is OEM and must be registered thru the software. If you have any other problems, let us know and if we feel it nesessary we will refer you to the manufacturer, since we sold you the software, we are your source of contact-not the manufacturer, Thanks!!

:zombie_smiley:

Derkoi
12-10-2008, 01:07 AM
They should be online police that sites like this can be reported to....

DVX100Shooter
12-10-2008, 03:27 AM
I am sure you can report them to the BBBonline.com. The funny thing is that in the FAQ's she tells people to contact the BBB if they are weary of her company! LOL! Something is just not right with this picture

Nathyn
12-13-2008, 08:46 PM
It seems the BBB would only do something if people complain. If no one complains the BBB does nothing as far as I can tell. A lot of people probably know what they're getting and she knows they won't complain.

-Nate

Jim2000
12-14-2008, 05:13 AM
So, are you friends with any other criminals?

Noel Evans
12-14-2008, 05:27 AM
And this from their testimonial page...


They sold me fully legal and updatable software without any glitches! Thanks! -Christine Swain

And this


The software is fully legal and was updateable without any glitches!! -Jack Sander

They arent too bright either.

Stephen Mick
12-14-2008, 07:05 AM
So, are you friends with any other criminals?

Why? Are you looking to buy some crack?

Taylor Rudd
12-14-2008, 10:16 AM
Why? Are you looking to buy some crack?

Just uhh...PM me..

RockmanX3
12-15-2008, 05:13 PM
Time to buy from there!

lol