PDA

View Full Version : AV Alive reviews?



plentine
10-16-2008, 07:02 PM
I am getting close to pulling the trigger on the Panasonic 150 from AV Alive. Has anyone had any experience with AV Alive. I have read a few good reviews. They are an authorized Panasonic dealer, but I have not seen too many reviews on them.

Thanks in advance for any personal experiences, good or bad!

Hidef1080
10-16-2008, 07:31 PM
I would not deal with them.

plentine
10-16-2008, 07:45 PM
Did you have a problem with them you can share? You can PM me if you like.

Tcap
10-16-2008, 07:46 PM
I purchased via AV ALive and I got the camera in 3 days perfect working order. That was my personal experience. Came with a 8 gig card also :)

plentine
10-16-2008, 07:51 PM
Thanks Tcap. I have been researching details and prices for this camera for a long time. Especially on this site. There are great reviews here that have been instrumental in my decision to buy this camera. Thanks to all who post here.

Hidef1080
10-16-2008, 08:02 PM
Did you have a problem with them you can share? You can PM me if you like.

I PM'ed you.

Bassman2003
10-16-2008, 09:18 PM
I purchased mine from them and it arrived very quickly.

There was a problem with the battery shipment from Panasonic and to get me my extra batteries for a gig this weekend, they broke up a shooters package and just sent the battery.

Really helped me out and the price on the shooters package was $3,500.

Overall I am satisfied.

Bucknfl
10-17-2008, 08:20 AM
I got my camera from them. Great price and prompt service.

Everts
10-17-2008, 10:21 AM
WHat does theire shooter package consist of ?

manglerBMX
10-17-2008, 10:25 AM
bag, battery, 8gb card and shotgun mic.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/576246-REG/Panasonic_HMC150SHOOTER_AG_HMC150_SHOOTERS_PACKAGE .html#includes

m.t.
10-17-2008, 03:33 PM
I purchased mine from them and it arrived very quickly.

There was a problem with the battery shipment from Panasonic and to get me my extra batteries for a gig this weekend, they broke up a shooters package and just sent the battery.

Really helped me out and the price on the shooters package was $3,500.

Overall I am satisfied.

Really? I'm waiting for a shooter's package.......

Spec-Comm
10-20-2008, 07:35 AM
Here is our deal. (http://www.spec-comm.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=788&zenid=de66e53414452f195870ffd774ed9408) We have the camera in stock and ready to ship.

Andrew Hoffman
Vice President
Specialized Communications Corp.
20940 Twin Springs Dr.
Smithsburg, MD 21783-1510 USA
800-359-1858
301-790-0103
Fax: 301-790-0173
andrewh@spec-comm.com
www.spec-comm.com

Please visit our new online store at ( http://www.spec-comm.com/store ).
New products being added daily!

KeithAndrews.TV
10-20-2008, 09:12 AM
I purchased my HMC150 Shooter's Package from AVAlive.com as well, and overall had a favorable experience. I have yet to see the package accessories though, which concerns me, but the Reps from AVAlive are saying that Panasonic has been slow to fulfill the orders for them, but they expect them any day. Hopefully we will see something here very soon. I definitely don't like carrying my camera to shoots by the handle.

thedonald
07-13-2010, 04:41 PM
I know this is late, but I have to say that AVAlive will send you the camera, but nothing else. It has almost been 2 years and they still tell me that Panasonic is slow to fulfill the orders. BS. STAY AWAY from them if you are considering the extras like the memory and the mic and battery and bag.... TERRIBLE customer service too---over the last 22 months of trying to get what I paid for, I mostly get a very lazy operator who pretends that she will look into it for me.

KeithAndrews.TV
07-13-2010, 07:02 PM
My order was fulfilled in its entirety about two weeks after I ordered it, and as you can see from my post above, that was way back in October of 2008. I was one of the early adopters and received the camera, mic, SD card, bag, hoodman, and extended battery all for about $3,500. My experience overall with the company was quite good. They did offer to send me the accessories from Panasonic as they arrived to their facility for no additional shipping cost, which I thought was a nice move by them. Unfortunately, the camera was recently sold :(

ggrantly
07-14-2010, 12:36 AM
First question always:

Are they an authorized dealer? If not, think twice. No, think three times and say no.

It might work out, but you may have warranty issues, get a grey market cam, incomplete order, get the up sell scam, or worse. It is just amazing in the age of the internet that there are so many video equipment scams.

If the price is lower than reputable dealers like B&H, Spec Comm or Full Compass, it is probably too good to be true.

Grant

David Saraceno
07-14-2010, 10:02 AM
This link:


http://www.avalive.com/Panasonic/47/0/productList.php

indicates they are Panasonic authorized.

ggrantly
07-14-2010, 11:29 AM
Thanks David,

I probably should have checked....my bad. Seems like they have a few issues though.

Grant