PDA

View Full Version : Tall order? Looking for collaborators in LA...

joeloud
07-26-2008, 05:41 AM
Ok, I know there is no shortage of talent here, but I'm sure a lot of it will want money, which I have none to give. I'll have a go at whatever comes out of this thread, and if nothing materializes, there will be another fest next quarter, right?

I'm relatively new to LA (and pretty much a newbie to these boards), but not new to filmmaking, so you needn't worry about this being an unprofessional YouTube video or something. My biggest problem is simply that the number of people I really know here can be counted on both hands and a foot, as I've only been here 3 weeks, so at worst this would end up just being a networking exercise for everyone involved.

Here's what I definitely have:
Director/producer (myself)
A story (see "WANTS" below)
HVX200 with one 16gb P2 card
FCP editing system with an editor (again, myself, HOWEVER, I'd be open to letting someone else cut it if I saw a demo reel I liked)
1st AD

Here's what I don't have and NEED:
A DP (I just don't know any DPs here - Across the country, sure, but not in LA yet)
Lighting equipment
Sound equipment
Someone, anyone, who is familiar enough with the area to help scout locations
(And I'm sure I'm forgetting something...)

Here's what I don't have and WANT (but don't necessarily need):
Another HVX200 with at least one P2 card, to speed up production
A 35mm adaptor with some lenses would be awesome (but getting two cameras is more important than one camera with the adapter. Now two cameras with two adapters and a matching set of lenses would be double-awesome)
I'm going to have a go at the script, but if you're into the writing thing, I'd love to have you polish it (or even write the whole thing based on my story if you'd like to).
A proper producer would be swell, too.

If you can help in any capacity, and don't mind not getting anything but a credit and a meal or two, don't hesitate to send me a PM or e-mail.