PDA

View Full Version : Buyer beware?



alveraz
06-21-2008, 07:37 PM
So, I decided to pick up another D200 body. My brother is taking over half my photo business while I work on writing. Anyway, I find this incredible deal on a D200 body for $549.00. I checked out the site and it all looked good, they looked like an authorized dealer and I was ready to pull the trigger.

My last quick thing I did was click the image of the D200. Go check this out and tell me if you see what I see. Does it say, "F*ck The World" or am I imagining that (top tab)? It's right at the top of your browser when you click the link below. If it does, then somethings shady going on here as I don't see a reputable business making a huge error like this. What I do see is some punk-ass kid creating a black market site to rip people off. Check this out... (link is safe, no worries there)...

http://www.1wayphoto.com/products.asp?dept_id=10267&product_id=12215


Thoughts?

By the way, I'm going to my local camera store (Sammys) to buy the body tomorrow, I don't know what I was thinking buying this online anyway.


www.zampanophoto.com

Barry_Green
06-21-2008, 07:44 PM
Yes, that's what it says. And no, there's no way I'd buy anything from this site.
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/1_Way_Photo

egproductions
06-21-2008, 07:50 PM
deadendphoto.com

DivotDan
06-21-2008, 07:51 PM
I've had a lot of success buying on some other reputable online forums. If you are interested I can PM the other sites to you. My D200 was bought used from a newpaper guy in Cali that also shot a lot of jazz musicians. It had about 30k clicks and I got it with the MB200 for $800. I was happy with the price, even though I've seen "newer" used D200's go for the same or less.

Moojangles
06-21-2008, 08:48 PM
now with the D300 out ive seen just the D200 body for under $800 but nowhere near $550... i wouldn't trust that.