PDA

View Full Version : I have to RANT.

J.R. Hudson
12-02-2003, 10:57 AM
So, I finally get the DVX100. THis amazing tool that will help me realize my passion for filmaking by giving me hands on access to working and learning at will.

I have so many ideas that have stacked up over time that I want to do; horror films, sci-fi, action, intrigue. You name the genre or the storyline and I have envisioned it in my dreams.

Those of you that know me, albeit virtually, know that I am not the expert and am learning. My film experience comes from working on "everyone else's films" as a GRIP and/or P.A..

So, I'm not a stranger by any means to filmaking, hell, I even drank beer with Pierce Brosnon and Tom Skerrit. But for all practicality, I am a fucking newbie when it comes to "Having a camera and being in the position to Direct and D.P.". Yo know, to really create and become an artist.

My art background consists of Oil Painting, Watercolor, Guitar Playing in a band (sigh... to be 24 again) and basically reading and sponging everything that has to with with films my whole life. (sigh... to be 14 again with my Super 8).

Getting this camera was a major fucking big deal to me. It's not often I am in a position to drop 3 grand on this kind of TOY. I do not want to "make money" doing this; I just want to make films.

We all know that I need certain things (VEGAS, TRI, MIC and the other accessories that can complete my mini-production needs) and I know in time I can gather these items.

The problem I am facing now, is with what I want to do, and what I should do.

I want to make the films I have always wanted to make. I know, I am not ready to do that just yet. I feel it would waste mine and everyone else's time if I tried to pull "those" off.