PDA

View Full Version : CURRENCY - nektonic

Nektonic
05-01-2008, 10:27 PM
C U R R E N C Y

A morning commuter decides to chase what looks like easy money.

http://www.dvxfest.com/scriptfest/Currency-nektonic.pdf

5 pages. No dialogue. Usually I am a very long-winded writer. This time I went with a more sparse writing style. I hope you all enjoy it. I'm looking forward to reading everyone else's work.

Russell Moore
05-01-2008, 10:29 PM
No dialogue? I'm hooked.

Nektonic
05-01-2008, 11:01 PM
Thanks conlanforever. Let me know it it lives up to your expectations. Are you competing in the fest? I didn't see a thread for yours.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
05-02-2008, 06:25 AM
Interesting.
Sounds promising. Good luck.

Mike

Russell Moore
05-02-2008, 07:30 AM
I am, but it looks like you found the answer to your own question. Thank you for the comment. I'm looking forward to reading this.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
05-02-2008, 05:28 PM
NICE! Once again... I'm an early review so I won't spoil it. Let me just say that I was anticipating a different ending.

Nice work.

Mike

Russell Moore
05-05-2008, 11:27 AM
I'm fine with the writing, the action and how the story progressed. I didn't miss dialogue at all.

But I wanted to care more about this guy. For example, show me he's married and has kids. Or something as simple as, he spends his last quarter on the paper and he looks in it, at stocks? looks at the sports odds, a gambler? at the classifieds, out of work? Then show him distraught at what he does or doesn't see in the paper.
I just wanted to know a little more about the guy, so I had more of a personal investment in him. I think I would have been even more anxious during the chase for the money.

I liked the chase itself and I liked the ending, it really worked for me.
It was a good read for me.

Nektonic
05-07-2008, 06:33 PM
Thanks for the feedback guys.