View Full Version : Crazy price on a DVX...
richblend
04-23-2008, 02:06 PM
http://www.digitaler.cn/product.asp?id=1434
Check that site out. Ive spoken to a guy that works there through email. I dont get whats going on here. I think I'd have to be silly to send them my hard earned cash - but for someone looking to buy their first DVX, its VERY tempting.
I know everyone here will say "buy from a reputable dealer, these guys will rip you off". But how? Will they just keep my money and not send anything? Will I get the product, but have no warranty? Anyone had any experience of these silly-cheap asian places?
Jeff Anderson
04-23-2008, 02:15 PM
chances are its grey market and they will want to charge you for the lens, battery, and everything else that should come with a dvx. You'll probably also be hassled into buying a crappy tripod, plastic filters, and some crappy tapes. And you wont have a warranty or qualify for any rebates. You get what you pay for. Do some searching and you'll read lots of stories about places like this.
Thomas J. O'Hara
04-23-2008, 02:16 PM
ya they will probably rip you off and if you try to track them down you'll find some abandoned building with the windows boarded up.
TJ Crucial
04-23-2008, 03:33 PM
Yeah man,
It's probably the ol' Bait & Switch. I did a lot of research before I bought mine, and I even found a few for $999 US! I read hundreds of store reviews on Google, and it seems that they'll show the camera in stock, then after they get your credit card number, they'll tell you that the camera is out of stock for a long time, unless you buy a bundle with shoddy lenses and whatnot that costs hundreds more.
Or you'll get the camera with no accessories or battery, and a photocopied manual. It was really sad to see how many people got f*cked over.
Here's an example;
http://www.google.com/products/reviews?fq=dvx100b&cid=f74378fb03bb3962&sort=2&sa=N&start=600
Good luck!
stanb17
04-28-2008, 05:48 AM
It indicated that he's operating out of JiangHanLu108#,HuBei District, WuHan, China. Why not swing by for a looksee and then make the deal?
My guess is the HuBei District of WuHan China is the tough side of town and you'd better go in with your own paramilitary team.
In other words, at the cost of a round-trip air ticket for you and your paramilitary team, hotels and food for the gang. bullets, the camera and a commemorative Muumuu for the wife, you'd probably save more by ordering from B&H in good o'l NYC.
SB
Jan_Crittenden
04-28-2008, 06:00 AM
If you are on this site, DVXuser.com, you are smart enough to do your homework. I would not advise you to buy anything from any reseller that was not authorized to sell the product. They have no rules to abide by and as many have pointed out here, you will likely be taken.
Warranty is within the country for which it was made. So if you have a camera that was shipped to Beijing, that is where its warranty is, not in Europe somewhere, and certainly not in the US. The link that TJ posted is pretty sad for all the peole that were taken. It has oft been said a fool and his money are soon parted. Don't let that be you and your money.
Best,
Jan
EDIT-XTREEM
04-28-2008, 07:23 AM
Or.. for even less at that site you can get an XH-A1.. lol
http://www.digitaler.cn/product.asp?id=1441
I'd stay away from that site. Looks fishy.
skullkrusher101
05-05-2008, 12:23 PM
What amazes me is some of these shop and compare prices sites seem to be in on it. They give these scam artists high ratings. resellerratings is a godsend. I cant believe some of the stories ive read on that site.
CaptainMench
05-05-2008, 12:30 PM
SOMEWHERE on this site is a thread (oh, 4 years ago now...) where someone walked around to all 'those' type places and took pictures of their 'storefronts.'
A quick search and I couldn't find it.
It erks me to NO end that even Macworld will take these guy's advertising. Sad.
Listen to Jan. Believe me, she's made quite a bit of money from legal sales of DVXs (stay with me Jan...) so she doesn't NEED you to buy one from a reputable dealer... she WANTS YOU to. (Hope I made that read as clear as it was in my head).
As always... too good IS too good.
CaptM
Barry_Green
05-05-2008, 12:38 PM
Don Wiss.
http://donwiss.com/pictures/brooklynstores/
CaptainMench
05-05-2008, 12:47 PM
THERE it is!!
Thanks Barry. Much longer than I remember!!
CaptM