PDA

View Full Version : The Art of War

Daniel Alexander
03-29-2008, 06:16 AM
Greetings, after receiving my Sony ex1 Iíve been playing around with some of itís different functions and decided to try and make a short by just using the lens in the macro setting. Itís just a little mess around using toy soldiers and a fake set I bodged together on the edge of my pc table (sand has gone everywhere) and decided Iíd post the results seeing as I havenít seen much macro footage from the ex1 online and thought it may be of interest to someone.

Anyway if you can, check it out and I hope you enjoy. This is my first time posting a video here, so errrmí be easy on me ;) but please feel free to comment!!!

http://www.vimeo.com/824568 (http://www.vimeo.com/824568)

Stevet
03-29-2008, 08:03 AM
Wow..
I enjoyed watching this. It's apparent you spent some time working on this.
For th life of me I can't remember the name of the song at the end? great choice.

Daniel Alexander
03-29-2008, 09:11 AM
Thanks for the kind comments Stevet. The whole project took maybe a few hours with editing included, but it was a lot of fun even though im still dusting sand out of my keyboard lol. the song is Mad World by Michael Andrews feat Gary Jules, i chose it because the lyrics were so fitting for the images and i tried my best to sync up some of the shots to the words where possible.

Thanks again, glad you enjoyed

Elijah
03-29-2008, 09:17 AM
The song is "Mad World" originally by Tears For Fears - that version is the cover from the end of "Donnie Darko" - the end sequence of "Donnie Darko" is a filmic cover or homage to the end of Kieslowski's "Blue" (that's a French movie by a Polish film-maker from the 90's BTW) - Richard Kelly taking his multi layered connectivity concept to a higher level.

Great video too Daniel... really simple, yet effective. Funny how that's all it takes sometimes.

Daniel Alexander
03-29-2008, 09:44 AM
Thanks Elijah, glad you enjoyed.

thefilmaddict
03-29-2008, 04:34 PM