PDA

View Full Version : 16mm for dummies

Tman08
02-07-2008, 05:07 AM
Hey everyone,

I just joined this forum and was wondering if you might be able to help me out. I am traveling to the Spa 24 Hours, a world famous endurance race at the end of July with a team.

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/2600/spazo2.jpg

I am new to filmmaking (I've only edited digital film clips) and have been looking at a Bolex 16mm camera.

I have a few questions about 16mm cameras:

1. Are there any good places in Europe to rent a camera for a certain period of time? (Since I might only use it for a single event)
2. Once filmed what is the steps needed to process the film into the digital spectrum?
3. What would the general cost be of film and accessories? (how much film is on one reel?)

If anyone knows anything about this and can help, then I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks!

Jason Adams
02-07-2008, 06:42 AM
If you are new to film making...Renting a film camera with no experience is not a great way to start shooting 16mm Film. All the Film Mediums require a very specific skill set. If you really want to learn 16mm or film acquisition then try to get on a gig as a second AC, learn to load the mag, and check the gate and use a light meter. Film is not as simple as rent camera point at action.

Also for my money, you could not pay me to shoot 16mm again. HD is cheaper ,easier, and for my eye looks better when properly executed.

Just a few thoughts...Good luck on your quest

Mattykins
02-07-2008, 08:59 AM
Okay, a few things.

The bolex has what is called a wild motor. Basically you are shooting at a ballpark of 24FPS for around 30seconds. Syncing sound is nearly impossible.

Also, you are going to be using a 100foot daylight spool role. The bolex is pretty easy to load. But, you are only going to be able to shoot for about two and a half minutes on a spool.