View Full Version : dvx100b for 900-1500 bucks?
orchidsofwrath
01-14-2008, 09:18 PM
-I am in the market for this camera, and i see it sold online at "best price cameras" and "express cameras" for 899$. This seems ludicrous. Every detail on the bio of the sale leads to it being the real deal with lens and all.
-can anyone verify this ridiculous price? or is it a scam?
-I'm also seeing it at a couple places for around 1600 bucks (ie bwayphoto.com, 1wayphoto.com) I even called some of these places to ask if it was the FULL camera in working condition with lens, they said yes.
Are these scams as well?
-its all so misleading and confusing!!! any input much appreciated.
saturnin
01-14-2008, 09:25 PM
if its too good to be true it is.. glad u came on here to ask us.
don buy from those places
Jack Daniel Stanley
01-14-2008, 09:29 PM
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=10706
replace "A" with "B", replace the current price from $3300 to $2500.
yes it is a scam and the two places you've mentioned are notorious.
Here's a list of authorized and non-authorized sellers.
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=12269&highlight=broadway+express
Jacquot
01-14-2008, 09:33 PM
-I am in the market for this camera, and i see it sold online at "best price cameras" and "express cameras" for 899$. This seems ludicrous. Every detail on the bio of the sale leads to it being the real deal with lens and all.
-can anyone verify this ridiculous price? or is it a scam?
-I'm also seeing it at a couple places for around 1600 bucks (ie bwayphoto.com, 1wayphoto.com) I even called some of these places to ask if it was the FULL camera in working condition with lens, they said yes.
Are these scams as well?
-its all so misleading and confusing!!! any input much appreciated.
Here is the answer:
Read the New York Times article: http://tinyurl.com/e284v
And Don Wiss' photos here: http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/
And the NY Better Business Bureau (search for any one of those stores, but realize that they use multiple business names): http://www.newyork.bbb.org/WWWRoot/SitePage.aspx?site=24&id=7ebe68e4-3db7-4d13-a004-72634b4feab1
No free lunch, sorry. This is an old broken record, "but the Brooklyn stores are soooo much cheaper...."
Buy from DVXuser supported businesses and give your money to honest people who pay their staff a decent wage.
orchidsofwrath
01-14-2008, 09:36 PM
you guys saved me alotta heart ache then.
thanks guys
GGF NYC
01-28-2008, 02:00 PM
Like I've stated before, I'm from Brooklyn and close to about 20 of those stores. If there is ever another store you are weary about let me know the address they give you and I'd be more than happy to check them out for you and let you know if these assholes are scammers or what, if the address is not too far from me.
I'd be glad to help a fellow camera buyer out as many people on this site have helped me before.
dory_breaux
01-29-2008, 09:38 PM
Gotta check Resellerratings.com.
BLahey
01-30-2008, 02:21 PM
thought I would share this, I was flipping through some HD magazine the other day at Borders and behold, Broadway photo had a huge two page spread, advertising 100B's for 1600 bucks, hvx's for like 2500 and MANY other cameras way below the market price. obviously grey, but I'm sure the ad wasn't cheap either. Thoughts on this?
dory_breaux
01-30-2008, 06:25 PM
Grey market.:violin: