PDA

View Full Version : The New Guys Vs The Old Guys (which should i choose??)

Punkmati
11-06-2007, 07:27 AM
Hi, I'm looking for a camera for shooting short films (I'm a beginner), so i don't know what to do, in the one hand there are the brand new HD camcorders (like Canon HV20) around $1000-$1300, and on the other hand there are old semi-professional camcorders (like Sony PD170 or 150) pre-owned around $1300-$1600. What should i choose? I'm a beginner but i want the best quality i can afford. Thanks guys.

princigalli
11-07-2007, 06:29 AM
pd 170 is history. you can't compare those ancient SD interlaced cameras to the powerful Canon HV20. It's High def, progressive scan, 1/2.7 cmos...

Huy Vu
11-07-2007, 01:59 PM
pd 170 is history. you can't compare those ancient SD interlaced cameras to the powerful Canon HV20. It's High def, progressive scan, 1/2.7 cmos...

Depends on what he plans to do with it. PD170 maybe interlaced, but so is the HV20 unless you take the time to manually remove those pulldown frames. Want to film live events with low lights? The PD170 beats the crap out of the HV20. In fact, just a week ago I had a PD170 shooting a show side by side with an XH-A1 and the PD170 delivers better color under low light conditions. I suspect the HV20 would lag even further behind with more noise. Ask yourself what you need a camera for first before making your choice.

William_Robinette
11-07-2007, 02:12 PM
Yes, and lest not forget those oh so useful fully manual controls and the proper buttons for them.

Punkmati
11-08-2007, 12:54 PM
I want to learn making short films, so I need a camera that helps me to improve my self (in a technical way). I prefer less image quality but more learning about things I'll able to use in the future with a pro camcorder.

Jeff Anderson
11-08-2007, 01:11 PM