View Full Version : eBay Kits
2 in the can
11-05-2007, 03:08 AM
So a friend of mine is looking to get into photography and wants a decent DSLR to start out. He has found that eBay has tons of different kits to offer that are supposedly new, in mfg. box, ect. I personally think they are too good to be true but am wondering if anyone here has bought one of these packages and what they thought of the product? I would hate for him to screwed out the gate. Oh, he is leaning to one of the 30D kits if that helps/matters.
Thanks,
Allen.
mikkowilson
11-05-2007, 03:13 AM
While of course there are many legitimant people selling used equipment on e-bay. I too have happily purchased many times from e-bay without any trouble and have been very happy.
But...
I wouldn't every really trust a "store" that used e-bay to do it's business. There are a LOT of scam artists out there who use e-bay to rip people off with incomplete poor quality gray-market goods with no support or service.
- Mikko
Jeremy Ordan
11-05-2007, 05:38 AM
If he wants a solid Ebay purchase then I would suggest he buy from Cameta Camera in NY. They are an authorized retailer and as long as he logs into Ebay and see which package he wants he can call and order directly from them. That's how I got one of my D200 kits (vert. grip and camera) and I saved a lot of money
2 in the can
11-05-2007, 07:22 PM
Thanks for the advice guys. I've passed the information onto him and I think he's going to have look at the cameta camera kits. He may also just buy local as I think he would rather have the convenience/piece of mind over possibly nominal savings.
Allen
triplej96
11-07-2007, 11:44 AM
If he wants a solid Ebay purchase then I would suggest he buy from Cameta Camera in NY. They are an authorized retailer and as long as he logs into Ebay and see which package he wants he can call and order directly from them. That's how I got one of my D200 kits (vert. grip and camera) and I saved a lot of money
So these guys are legit right? Seems like they have some pretty good deals!
http://search.stores.ebay.com/Cameta-Camera_pentax-k10d-usa_W0QQfciZ5QQfclZ4QQfromZR10QQfsnZCametaQ20Camer aQQsaselZ27280321QQsofpZ0
Jeremy Ordan
11-07-2007, 11:49 AM
I can't access Ebay from where I am at right now, but if it is Cameta Camera then they are completely legit and a great company to deal with. I have always been extremely happy with them, but rather than buy through Ebay, call them and work a deal... see if they will negotiate at all (they will).
triplej96
11-07-2007, 11:51 AM
Sweet, thanks Jeremy!