PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know...


youngfilmmaker
07-31-2007, 07:28 PM
I am thinking of getting an Canon XL2. And I saw this site
http://thecameraprofessionals.com/welcome.asp

and the camera is going for $1,549.00.

Should I trust this site? Have you heard anything about it?

I am thinking this is a scam..

topcat
07-31-2007, 07:51 PM
I almost always deal with B&H. I've never had a problem there at all. They are very reputable and always treat you well.

Luis Caffesse
07-31-2007, 08:30 PM
Always check RESELLER RATINGS (http://www.resellerratings.com/store/TheCameraProfessionals)

Here are some excerpts for you from some of the reviews:

"Representatives are rude. Website says they items are Brand New, but they forgot to mention, that it doesn't include battery, charger, USB cable, etc"

"DO NOT EVER EVER SHOP WITH THESE SCAMMERS!!!"

"First of all: DO NOT BUY FROM THEM!!!"

"These guys are rip offs!"

"they have the worst customer service and the worst possible language. The first time I called, their customer rep. hung up the phone. The second time I called, they said "We don't have it, go away!" The third time I called to complain about their customer service, they said "Go f**k yourself!"

"Can you say SCAM! These people are despicable!"


For future reference, check out this post:
Things to do before buying a camera (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=104891)

youngfilmmaker
07-31-2007, 08:33 PM
Thanks dude for the help. I have a Canon GL2 and I was just thinking of buying a XL2 but I guess I need to get it at bhphotoandvideo.

Luis Caffesse
07-31-2007, 08:40 PM
Look around this site - there are many dealers that are recommended.
As a general rule - you're always safe going with an authorized dealer - they are authorized for a reason. There are also SOME non-authorized dealers that might be okay, but in general - if someone is selling it for WAY below everyone elses price, its a scam.

Some places to check out would be:

B&H Photo
Specialized Communications
EVS

And a whole bunch more...just look around this site - and read the sticky's about camera buying/authorized dealers.

Good luck
:thumbsup:

pixelated
08-10-2007, 10:35 PM
What Luis said.

I'm also a big fan of AbelCineTech after they went way beyond the norm making good on an order for us.

This industry seems to have the highest concentration of scum sucking bottom feeding suppliers I've ever seen. We must be where all the suckers are.

This site just keeps saving my hide....

Jason Miller
08-13-2007, 10:21 PM
I just wonder what the hells taking the NY Da.s offise so long to shot these guys down, they've been investigating these sites for years.

Jason

sundance44ANCE44
08-14-2007, 07:47 AM
I Trust In God And B&h Photo, They May Not Always Be The Absolute Cheapest But They Are Definately The Most Honest And Easy To Deal With. I Bought Both My Gl2 And Xl2 From Them. They Do A Kick Ass Packaging Job When They Ship Their Products, Never Any Damages