PDA

View Full Version : Canon, Sony, Panasonic??

r1ck
07-17-2007, 10:09 AM
This is my first time posting on this site. I haven't had time to search through the site either to see what others have said... Can you guys give me some opinions/suggestions on these, or direct me to other threads??:
Just wondering, what do you guys think? Canon XL-A1, XL-G1? Sony HVR-V1U, HDR-FX7, HVR-Z1U? Or Panasonic AG-HVX200?
Currently I am using a Canon XL-1. I am thinking more towards Sony as opposed to Canon. But I do like the Panasonic a lot.
The thing is that I can't afford to switch formats to P2 right now, but it would be nice to be able to in the future switch to that or a hard media recording device like Fire Store. So I would be shooting on mini DV tape still now. Also, I am still editing and distributing in SD. I am just looking to upgrade to a new camera because my XL-1 is getting old and wore out. And we are looking for something new and to be able to compete with everyone else who has already upgraded in the area.
Thanks for the suggestions.
I know the difference between HD and HDV, but again, I will still be shooting on Mini DV tape in SD for the time being, just looking to upgrade my camera...
Thanks again!

moviemaker999
07-25-2007, 02:58 PM
Well here it goes.
The canon xha1 and g1 are essentially the same thing except the g1 has more professional outputs. The sony cameras are hdv and right now most people would agree that the canon xha1 is the best price/perfomance in hd. It is still hdv, but people say it is the best of the hdv bunch. The v1u costs more and doesn't seem better. You can add a firestore to most professional cameras. If you get a firestore in the future make sure you get the correct one for the canon because of the f mode.