PDA

View Full Version : Looking For Some Inspiration (Help)

Larry Rutledge
07-16-2007, 09:25 PM
I'm putting together a pictorial directory (address book with pictures), but the pictures I'm working with are not the greatest.

I've read and practiced tons of tutorials for removing blemishes, smoothing skin, etc, etc, etc, ad nauseum. But I'm still having trouble getting, in my opinion, a decent final result.

If anyone of you Photoshop guru's feels like playing around with one of the pictures and giving me an idea of what I could accomplish it might give me the inspiration I need. I think my problem is that I'm not experienced enough with these kinds of manipulations to know what I should be looking for in an end result.

Here's one of the images (~2 MB)

http://www.nrestudios.com/archive/images/flanders.jpg

Also, since I'll be printing these images at a place like Kinko's, so I need to color correct to a calibrated monitor, or will the LCD on my notebook give me a close enough color representation to know what to expect in the printed version?

Thanks for any feedback, comments, suggestions, examples, etc, etc, etc, :)

Peace,
Larry

dougspice
07-16-2007, 09:33 PM
The tip I learned from a very high-end retoucher for skin tones (this was his "Covergirl" technique) was that you first actually remove all the color from the skin tones and go to grayscale. In grayscale you use your healing and cloning tools to fix it all up and blur the skin to perfection. Once it's silky smooth in grayscale you paint the color back in by hand, using screen mode and others as appropriate.

I can see how this yields the best results, but it was always a bit work intensive for me - plus it generates that rather artificial look that I'm not a huge fan of. My method was to simply paint over the face in a handful of blended solid colors, then transfer these at varying opacities (15-30% usually seemed to work well for a semi-natural look).

Larry Rutledge
07-16-2007, 09:51 PM