PDA

View Full Version : Buying a DVX100a online.. help



SimonCreations
06-14-2007, 09:13 AM
Been looking around for a DVX100a online.. I have seen quite a few on ebay, and most of them sell for $2000-$2300.

I found this website, which claims to sell only new products - and their price is $1500 - sounds too good to be true:
http://www.thecameraprofessionals.com/prodetails.asp?prodid=289&gclid=CJnA_5Xz24wCFQlQWAodlHzCdQ

Then there is this site which lists the camera from multiple stores:
http://www.shopcartusa.com/P_Panasonic_AG-DVX100B_AGDVX100B/PT_Y/?ic_campID=98

Are any of these good options? Any other places I should be looking?

thanks!

Simon

Jan_Crittenden
06-14-2007, 09:19 AM
.com/P_Panasonic_AG-DVX100B_AGDVX100B/PT_Y/?ic_campID=98[/url]

Are any of these good options? Any other places I should be looking?

thanks!

Simon

The DVX100A is a discontinued product. You should be looking at a DVX100B. The list price on this camera is $2995.

None of the vendors that you have shown links for are authorized dealeras and frankly you will find that your camera will not have a Panasonic US warranty.

I suggest you look at some of the dealers that support this site and make your purchases there.

Best,

jan

THoff
06-14-2007, 09:27 AM
IMHO, ShopCartUSA exists solely to promote online stores that have a reputation for pulling bait-and-switch scams. If you examine the tactics of those stores on reputable sites like ResellerRatings.com, you'll often find completely contradictory shopping experiences.

Caveat emptor!

SimonCreations
06-14-2007, 10:45 AM
$3000 for a DVX100b seems like a lot.. For just a little more I could get an HD camera (XH A1 or the HVX). I have used the XL2 quite a bit at work, but I was wanting to get the DVX100a because it is much lower in price (I realize it would be used..) and it seems like it would be much easier to maneuver than the XL2.

Zim
06-14-2007, 10:56 AM
When B &H ,EVS and others have them,,,they are selling for about $2600.

SimonCreations
06-14-2007, 11:47 AM
What about getting a DVX100b on ebay? bad idea?

here is one that I found:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Panasonic-AG-DVX100B-3CCD-DVCAM-Camcorder-3000-PKG-NEW_W0QQitemZ130123752132QQihZ003QQcategoryZ20332Q QrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

ovjamaica
06-14-2007, 12:31 PM
Generally yes. If you want to stay cheap and don't care about getting a warranty, you're better off buying from someone on this site in the Marketplace section than buying from eBay. Watch your back here, but generally things go smoothly.

zombie_rem
06-14-2007, 10:59 PM
I got my 100B from www.abesofmaine.com (http://www.abesofmaine.com) for a little under $2,600 and it was sent to my door in 2 days. i was too scared of buying used stuff on Ebay..

Jan_Crittenden
06-15-2007, 02:59 AM
I got my 100B from www.abesofmaine.com (http://www.abesofmaine.com) for a little under $2,600 and it was sent to my door in 2 days. i was too scared of buying used stuff on Ebay..


You might find that it is a gray market camera without a warranty here.

Sorry,

Jan

zombie_rem
06-15-2007, 08:16 AM
I called and they told me it has the Factory USA Warranty, and it does have all the warrenty papers with it. And i called the number on the warranty papers to make sure, gave them all the info they needed and they said it is warrantied. So it seems to be legit.

ovjamaica
06-15-2007, 08:42 AM
Let's just say you're lucky zombie. Others have not had such a good experience.

Jan_Crittenden
06-15-2007, 08:53 AM
I called and they told me it has the Factory USA Warranty, and it does have all the warrenty papers with it. And i called the number on the warranty papers to make sure, gave them all the info they needed and they said it is warrantied. So it seems to be legit.

Hi,

Keep in mind that unless you had the US Service department check your serial number against the list, I would still say it is gray. The last one I checked that came from Abe's was gray market and the warranty was in Canada. Keep in mind that the cameras sent to North Amera have warrenty paperwork for three places, Canada, US and PuertoRico. If you want to PM me with your serial number I will check it for you.

Best,

Jan

kledster
06-15-2007, 10:28 AM
3k or even 2600 seems too much for a new dvx. i think i'll wait even longer and wait till it comes down more.

fu-pow
06-16-2007, 09:12 AM
I got mine at www.beachcamera.com as did some of my colleagues.

ovjamaica
06-18-2007, 06:29 AM
3k or even 2600 seems too much for a new dvx. i think i'll wait even longer and wait till it comes down more.

Don't hold your breath. It will likely stay around $2,600 for a good while.

superhardrocker
07-07-2007, 02:00 AM
OHHHHHHH STOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOOOOOO
DON"T BUY iT FROM THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shopcartusa is a fraud site. Try writing a negative review on there, guess what they won't post it. Don't go to those small store sites, I did, and I regret it. They do lots of bait and switch, they will charge you for something you didn't even want!!
Go to the big dependable stores
bandh, adorama, amazon

tommetass
07-07-2007, 04:05 AM
umm.. you have www.expandore.com who sells a PAL dvx100b for $2,540

SimonCreations
07-07-2007, 09:04 AM
Thanks for all the suggestions. I actually ended up buying a DVX100a from a poster here on dvxuser.com! I paid a little over $1800 for a camera with about 120 hours, which seemed like a really good deal to me. It should be coming in the mail early next week - I can't wait!!!

renegadewill
07-07-2007, 11:51 PM
Dude u cannt go wrong with B&H